Week Thirty-Six: Ring the Bell

This week, the hardy souls that are the schoolchildren of Wisconsin finally returned to school — apparently the last schoolkids on the planet to do so, judging from all the “back to school” Facebook posts over the last two weeks. As you read this post, I’m probably still recovering from the “Coffee Girls” celebration of the first day of school at our local coffee shop, so I’m going to take the easy path and fill it with videos. But I can only think of a few rock songs that mention this special time.

A few weeks ago, I was shopping for back-to-school clothes with my teenage son. We got in the car, turned on the radio, and heard this song about another mother taking her teenage son shopping for back-to-school clothes. I can guarantee that my son felt happier about the whole experience than the Fresh Prince did, even if the cashier at Kohl’s did remark on “all the kids buying these Mineshaft t-shirts.”

(Disclaimer: My son begs me to stop this video early because to him, it’s slow and repetitive, and therefore annoying. Well… I can see how he perceives it that way. But I still like it.)

The next video isn’t really for a song, but it sort of is. If you listen closely at the beginning, you can hear “School’s Out” playing as Muzak. I was not originally a big fan of Alice Cooper — he was simply too dark and scary for me. It was my brother who listened to this sort of thing while I was listening to Barry Manilow and Amy Grant. But now that I’ve grown up and I’ve spent a little time listening to his syndicated radio show, I respect him tremendously. And I think this commercial is hilarious. It doesn’t hurt that the little girl in it could easily have been Wednesday from “The Addams Family.” She is just so not excited about going to school, and he is just so excited about the school supplies. Squee!

I can’t think of very many other songs that take place at school, except for possibly “Smoking in the Boys’ Room.” And Mötley Crüe isn’t that much of a guilty pleasure for me to embed that video here. But there is another catchy little tune that mentions, albeit briefly, the beginning of the school year.

Notice those fly girl dancers? (I think you did.) That’s the exact same dance we did at the coffee shop on Tuesday morning. Have a good school year, everybody. 😉

9th, 2nd, 4th, and 5th.

9th, 2nd, 4th, and 5th.

Published in: on September 5, 2013 at 10:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2013/09/05/week-thirty-six-ring-the-bell/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

