Wanted: strap mojo

Maybe I’ve been a little too cocky about the knitting lately. I have a group of Christmas presents I need to finish within a week’s time for early delivery, and I’m almost done. Maybe I’ve been letting too many people know that I’m almost done with them?

Yesterday I finished an Everlasting Bagstopper project. It’s a great free pattern and a quick and fun knit. I made one at this time last year.

And, this time last year, I researched a bit on Ravelry and found the perfect strap pattern I wanted to use for it. It was great, knit up quickly, attached securely, all that stuff. I gave the bag as a Christmas present and it got rave reviews (i.e., it’s actually being used).

So, last night I sat down to make a long single strap for this one. Cast on, knitted a few rows of garter stitch to help anchor it to the bag, then….. nothing worked.

Oh, wait, maybe before I slip those stitches purlwise I ought to have the yarn in front of the work. That should do it.

Frog, rewind, cast on, knit garter stitch. Try new method.

That’s not doing anything either.

Where’s my i-cord edging???

Frog, rewind, stuff in project bag.

Does anyone have a favorite strap pattern to share? For now I’m just going to pretend I’m making a very very narrow cotton scarf, and see how that goes.

Published in: on November 16, 2009 at 11:38 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2009/11/16/wanted-strap-mojo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’d just go with an i-cord. And don’t worry. The Christmas knitting gets to everybody. Even me! 🙂

  2. Hey lady! I awarded you a Sunshine Award. Pop over to my blog and have a look. 🙂

    • Cool! is it on here, on the Chocolate sheep? 🙂


Leave a Reply

