Vultures!

I’m getting really tired of this. Poor Farrah Fawcett, can we let her rest in peace?

Quite some time ago I wrote a post that included a head shot of Ms. Fawcett with that famous hair, which all of us “of a certain age” were trying to re-create on our own heads many years ago.

The post has taken on a life of its own, and most of the people who find my blog via search terms have been using phrases like “Farrah Fawcett” but most often “fara faucet” or some even more misspelled variation. Every time poor Farrah’s cancer flared up in the last two years, I’d get a spike of hits. (That post is responsible for 10 percent of the total hits on my blog. I Am Not Making This Up.)

So. I was away around the time of my birthday, and didn’t have access to wifi. When I got back I noticed this tremendous spike of views on and just before my birthday. In fact, June 25 set a new one-day record, topping the day I wrote about the Blue Moon Fiber Arts sock club debacle. Wow, I thought, did people really come by to say Happy Birthday in those kind of numbers?

Nope. Farrah Fawcett died of cancer and my blog must have hopped to the top of the search-engine list.

Sorry folks, nothing to see here. Just one thumbnail headshot of Farrah from the 1970s, a few chocolate bars, and a lot of procrastinated knitting. You vultures can move along.

But you yarnies can stay! I’m making a lace scarf, and finishing socks, and all kinds of exciting things.

Here’s the first clown Noro sock. I haven’t cast on for the second one yet.

That Noro Sock

Currently I’m working on the lace scarf (the pattern is called “Moon River” but my project is named “Fire River” because of the yarn colorway) and fixing Tyrone and wishing Tyrone were already fixed. I did finish a second Pinstripe TenScarf, but haven’t added any fringe yet. (And holy moley, I got a Rav PM from the pattern designer saying she hadn’t had time to fringe the one she made since it was for a gift, but she liked the fringe I put on mine. Wowzers!)

Pinstripe TenScarf II

This one’s a giftknit, and I want to get another one on the needles ASAP for another Whovian friend. Who knows, I may start cranking these out like some people make touques. I’m not naming any names.

Published in: on July 9, 2009 at 10:59 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2009/07/09/vultures/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. People find my blog by googling either wood ticks, deer ticks, or fastest knitter. Who knew?

  2. You’re birthday is the 25th? So is mine! At least we had a memorable b-day this year…

  3. And I wouldn’t even know if people find my blog by googling!

    A belated Happy Birthday; LOVE that sock!

  4. Did I ever mention….*addiction*? I thought I was, you know, knitting a few toques for commissions. Then I thought I’d knew a few preemie caps for a Ravelry thing. I thought a Calorimetry might be nice……Well, Sistah! Raise yo’ HANDS to de Lawd, because you is headed right down the path to ADDICTION! And if that scarf is as fun to knit as it looks, well! I’ll see yer at the 12-step program. (Hi, my name is **** and I’m………)


Leave a Reply

