I can’t believe I’m going….

So, like, there’s like, this spinning retreat, like, starting tomorrow — and I get to go!

Well, not to the whole thing, but something like two-thirds of it plus a little slice of Friday. It’s the Judith MacKenzie McCuin-led retreat held through Susan’s Fiber Shop. Getting there has been an interesting journey, what with date changes and roommate arrangements and hotel reservations — but it starts tomorrow.

On the one hand, the original plan was going to be *awesome* with all the things that a friend and I had schemed up. Nothing can replace the weekend that I had, briefly, in my imagination. But this one should be pretty good too, even though I’ll miss everything that happens in the daytime Friday session.

The best part of getting ready for it (have I packed a single thing? NO) has been clearing the spinning equipment so I can start fresh this weekend with spinning every freaking thing in my stash, with intelligence and intention. This week I made two new Wookie skeins totaling almost 200 yards of 2-ply, I updated my spinning records as much as I could without Actual Research, and I made little labels for the jars I keep my handspun in.

(No, I haven’t knitted a single stitch on any of my handspun. There are many reasons for this. But I do have a project in mind for my Wookie-wool once it’s all spun up. Right now I have about 25 percent of what I need. Wait and see….maybe by 2011.)

So. I emptied my bobbins, I reglued most of my bobbins, I printed out directions to the “field trip” portion of Friday…. 

Yup. Going to yarn camp, and I couldn’t be happier.

Wait till the kids find out.

Knitwise I’ve been a bit of a slug. I started working on the second Retro Rib Sock again, figuring if I did one pattern repeat a day I would eventually finish the sock and could get on with my life. That plan worked about as well as most of my plans do, but this time I’m going to climb right back on the wagon and keep trying to work it.

I got caught up on Logan’s Blanket tonight, too. It’s pretty easy to work twelve rows on that blanket — you just have to turn your back on teh drama of Ravelry and actually sit down to knit.

So. Let me know if you’d like me to blog from mid-retreat on Saturday night, and I’ll take the computer along with my collection of two-hundred year-old technology. Hey, maybe I’ll even take the camera!

Published in: on March 5, 2009 at 10:01 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/i-cant-believe-im-going/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A post from mid-retreat would be fun, if you find there’s room amongst all your spinning stuff for the computer!

    Hee…I’m just enough of a sci-fi geek to love the concept of Wookie wool. “Laugh it up, fuzzball!” 🙂

  2. “Let me know if you’d like me to blog from mid-retreat on Saturday night, and I’ll take the computer along with my collection of two-hundred year-old technology. Hey, maybe I’ll even take the camera!”

    YES please, I’ve only just run into your blog (yes I know…I’m a bit slow sometimes)….you can’t have a break from posting now! LOL

  3. Yay! Spinning camp 🙂 Please keep us updated on all the fun.

  4. What kind of question is that? OF COURSE we want you to post, silly!

    I’m jealous! In honor of your fun, I shall pull out the spindle. I was going to knit, but the kids excommunicated me from the living room. Spindling will work better from the office chair anyway. 🙂

    Have fun!


Leave a Reply

