Chilly

You may have heard this already, but my region is expecting extremely cold temperatures over the next couple of days. I know, I was trying not to start each new post with a weather report, but this is kind of special weather.

Pretend you’re on Match Game ’77 for a minute. (Those of you born after 1977 may skip to the end.)

Gene Rayburn: “It was so cold in Wisconsin the other day—”
Richard Dawson, Brett Somers, Charles Nelson Reilly, et al.: “How cold was it?”
Gene Rayburn: “It was so cold in Wisconsin the other day, that they cancelled Thursday classes by 5:30 on Wednesday afternoon.”

I know, it doesn’t have the same ring to it as “It was so cold that Beth froze her BLANK off,” but this is a pretty big deal for us. Tomorrow morning it’s supposed to be -20°F. Wind chills tonight and especially Thursday night may be in the -40° to -45°F range. So finding out the day before was amazing. Our school district was even listed individually, which probably only happened because not everything in Milwaukee County was closed on Thursday yet.

So. The kids are all home tomorrow, and we’re not planning to open the door except to let Daddy leave for a brief business trip to sunnier, warmer Texas. Personally, I plan to knit. A lot. I don’t know what they have in mind.

Knitwise, on Tuesday I finished a little baby blanket for one of Big Tom’s therapists. The poor woman was on bedrest awaiting induction tonight, only to be told she’s not ready and has to stay on bedrest until 39 weeks are done. Ugh ugh ugh, I wouldn’t wish it on anyone. But let the record show I finished the knitting, washed and dried it, and wrapped it up and wrote a card. (Don’t tell her I can’t even find the cute baby-gift wrapping paper and adorable card I bought for her last Saturday.)

Me: “I’m sure I put it in a Secret Special place.”
James: “Why don’t you make a map of your Secret Special places?”
Now there’s a good idea. For now, I’m just glad I had almost-appropriate wrapping paper that could substitute.

Other than that, I’m working on the first of a pair of Retro Rib socks — but very, very slowly. I got in one repeat at the Webelos meeting last night, and one repeat this afternoon. I’m also working on another Doctor Who Scarf, but I think I’ve managed two rows on that all week. It’s so far under the radar there’s dirt on the plane’s undercarriage. I haven’t done anything on the Secret Project except buy more yarn for it. 

In other news, I just finished sending in all my edits to the new issue of Knitcircus, so that will be able to go to the printer very soon. I like helping out on the ‘zine and I am just so impressed with the designs of Elizabeth Morrison. You should see her finished items in person. They all have such personality to them, and some of the yarns just glow. My own stuff just looks like stuff.

Top Chef Bulletin: Ariane got sent home tonight. Hosea pretty much threw her under the bus by allowing her to butcher her butchering of a lamb without telling her he had much more experience or offering to help. She didn’t even know how to tie up a roast properly. For goodness’ sake, I could have done a better job at it by remembering stuff I’ve seen Jacques Pepin do on television. So it’s sort of fair, and sort of not. She wasn’t going to make it to the finals anyway. Next week: Restaurant Wars. Bwahahaha!

Published in: on January 14, 2009 at 11:47 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2009/01/14/chilly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow – -20F!! In the UK we all had kittens last week because it went down to -5C (about 20F) for a few days!! I guess it’s all relative to what you’re used to, but still! Keep warm and knit away!

  2. Oh, I don’t know – it didn’t seem too bad when I went out to do chores today – of course I waited until it was up to about 5 below before venturing out! The wind wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

    How are you taking the news of the new doctor (Dr Who)?

  3. ’round Chez Bee we refer to it as Booger Freezin’ Cold! One more night and then highs in the single digits. Woohoo! I’ll be heading to work with the Rapture Roof open by Monday!

  4. Hosea has a chance at the finals anyway. Ariane bounced back pretty well after the early failures, but I think she’s more of a cook than a chef. I’m hoping for Hosea, Radhika, Jaime and Stephan to make the top 4, so far.

  5. Hey Cheeka!
    Reserved out room for Fri. and Sat. nite. Come to $80 each. I’ll give you the confo # when I see you next! Yee Haw!
    PS. Have you seen the pattern for the tiny little Jayne Hat ornament on Rav?

  6. Anything that references Match Game ’77 is great in my book!

    I’m in Madison, wishing work would get closed when it’s cold outside 🙂


Leave a Reply

