A first post for 2009

Well, I survived a New Year’s Eve date with my husband. If we had those more than once a year I don’t know how I’d prepare. We had a fun sorta healthy dinner (Mongolian BBQ) and a Cake concert at the Riverside in Milwaukee, and an overnight in a luxurious hotel. He saved up all his points and miles from his business travel last year to get it. I should have done a photo shoot of the room, but I forgot.

And yesterday I produced the first FO of 2009 — the bamboo socks. Okay, so the vast majority of the work was done in 2008, but still. Weaving in is what makes them done. The aforementioned socks will be appearing at The Sow’s Ear in Verona, Wisc., tonight as part of their Victory Tour. Please stop by and pet them!

Today I picked the first yarn I’ll be using in my Personal Sock Club project. This is a Ravelry thing, part of the Stash Knit Down 2009 group. Lots of people have come up with cool ideas for using up their stash, and this is the one that connected with me. To join our super special sock club, you just pick out the sock yarns you already have and the patterns you want to make, put them in plain or fancy bags, and draw one out every month. A $250 value, for free! I will be making the Retro Rib Socks from Interweave’s Favorite Socks book, using Wildfoote Luxury Sock Yarn from Brown Sheep, in the “Forget Me Not” colorway.

I’ve also got Late Night Knitting tonight — and it’s a must-go because DH is poised to start his big business travel season and will be gone on some of the nights. I must strike while the needles are hot, as it were.

A big HELLO to those of you who have discovered my blog and been gracious enough to tell me you like it! I will try to have more posts and more pictures this year, though I need to upgrade my photo storage subscription to make that possible. I hate working with PayPal because I do it so infrequently that I always forget what to do. But for you, I’ll do it.

I think I have a big round number of posts coming up very soon (this is #296). How shall we celebrate Number Three Hundred?

Published in: on January 2, 2009 at 1:04 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2009/01/02/a-first-post-for-2009/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the Personal Sock Club idea! I may have to do that. (Do not even let me THINK about knitting the little bags to put each month’s entry in.) 🙂

    Your bamboo socks are beautiful!

  2. With CHOCOLATE, of course!

  3. Great lookin’ socks! And great idea about the Personal Sock Club. I might try that.

  4. GORGEOUS socks. I would pet them if I could. I’m not up to sock level yet but I’m in several groups and I want to actually work on their challenges this year, in tandem with a stash knit-down. Wish me luck!


Leave a Reply

