Resolve

At the risk of making at least one of my readers collapse on the floor with laughter (Stephanie G., you may leave right now), it’s that wonderful time of year when I like to make resolutions for how I will change my behaviors and/or attitude in the upcoming year.

Here are some of my targets.

Clutter.
In 2009 I plan to get rid of a lot of crap that’s clogging my house and my mind. This may mean I will actually have to set aside some time to finish old scrapbooks and make new ones. I have boxes of beautiful preschool artwork from each child now. Yes, that includes my “baby” who will turn ten in three months. I think about six months of dedicated time will be all I need. Of course, I’m probably all out of Tape Runner. I wonder if they still make that?

Order.
No, this is not the same thing as Clutter but they are definitely close relatives. In my mind there is a school binder where I keep track of all upcoming deadlines, permission slips, and big homework projects. There’s a bulletin board for Boy Scout and Girl Scout meetings, projects, notices, and upcoming events. There’s a publication plan for my knitting pattern books. The desktops and dresser tops are… empty. Okay, this might take seven months.

Technique.
This applies to knitting, for now. In 2009 I want to learn some different ways to do things. I am cranking out lots of small stuff but I feel like I’m doing some of the steps out of habit. Next year I want to learn at least one new cast-on and one new bind-off, and how to make some items in the opposite direction than I do now. This means toe-up socks, top-down hats, a sideways scarf, and a cuff-to-cuff sweater. That’s one new thing every two months. That seems more doable. No, I’m not planning to learn how to crochet. Maybe in 2010.

Thankfulness.
This concept has been brewing in me for a very long time, maybe even ever since high school, when Count Basie was in town and I wanted to take a friend of mine to see him. The Count passed away not long afterwards, and the realization that I would never get another chance was a shock. This year, I plan to write letters to the people who I’ve admired over the years, at least one every month. This will include some relatives but also some celebrities. Think “Tom Lehrer” rather than “Brad Pitt” and you’ll have a better idea of where I’m coming from. If you want to follow along with me in Thankfulness, please do! Write to your favorite author, or your fourth-grade teacher, or to your Grandpa. These people won’t be around forever, and if a kind letter from you makes them smile, it’s worth whatever time it takes. Once a month, write a little letter or notecard. You don’t even have to make the paper, or the card, yourself. Doable.

Health.
Last year I felt I deserved a chocolate chip cookie when I felt happy. Or hungry. Or angry. Or sad. Or lonely. (See a pattern here?) In 2009 I deserve to be healthy. I deserve to help my body work efficiently. I deserve to have energy, good spirits, and clothes that fit.

Oh yeah — and I plan to blog more often. Balancing Ravelry and WordPress might be hard for me, but I’m lucky I don’t have worse issues.

Happy new year!

Published in: on December 30, 2008 at 1:37 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/resolve/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great targets – thanks for sharing. I like the idea of targets rather than resolutions.

  2. Hoo boy…too many of those sound vaguely familiar! Except that my “clutter” category is my ongoing attempt to undo all the unnecessary chaos and disorganization of moving three times since the four-year-old was born. My “organization” is also the same principles, just different specifics…

    Good luck with all!

  3. I really like your Thankfulness target, and what you’re going to do about it! I used to write a lot more letters, and it would be nice to get back to that with all the stationery and gel pens I have to use, and hopefully brighten someone’s day at the same time.

  4. I hope you succeed in emptying those dresser tops and desk tops – clear surfaces have always eluded me! As soon as I see a clear surface, I have to put stuff on it. Unfortunately, my daughter has inherited this compulsion. There are Her Little Ponies all over the coffee table, and a few times a week I make her clear them off and take them back to her room…and then I promptly pile cross-stitch magazines and knitting patterns in their place.

    Love the Thankfulness idea. I’ll have to think on that one!

  5. I *was* going to demand – STERNLY – that you blog more often, but I see you’ve beaten me to it.

    I made a resolution a while back to quit making new year’s resolutions. Dunno yet whether or not this was a good thing. Probably not. Anyway – happy new year!

  6. Good luck with the changes you want to make — they are all great goals. I am especially impressed with your thankfulness goal. What a great idea.

  7. What?!?! We don’t deserve chocolate chip cookies on all those occasions? Really?! This is earth shattering news to me and could possibly explain why my clothes are the size they are.

    So, are we hosting a party in September again? I don’t see that up there…I’ll be a better help if we start sooner 🙂


Leave a Reply

