The day before the travel day

What happened? Is it time to go? Where are my clothes? What am I taking?

Oh yeah.

I thought we were on track with getting ready for a week away from home, when I saw the 2-3 inches of wet snow on the ground this morning. OK kids, now I’m serious about the mittens and the hats and the scarves. And by the way, pick up a snow shovel on your way out. kthxbai.

There are a couple of knitting projects I really should be working on today, but in reality I’ll be doing dishes and laundry and making lists and packing for the kids. So any knitting will probably be just stress-release knitting. I started a little garter stitch scarf for my daughter that’s perfect in that role — filling the Garter Stitch Void where the Doctor Who Scarf used to be. (I’ll probably start another one after Christmas, if there is anything after Christmas.)

We currently have 20 Connor Caps logged in here at Hat Central. Today’s the last day I’ll be receiving mail before the deadline of next Monday. I’m preparing myself hoping for an onslaught of the remaining 180 hats then, when I go to the post office to pick them up.

If you haven’t emailed me for my address before 2pm tomorrow (Tuesday), just contact Sara (Spitfire) at the email she left in the comments, and she’ll get it to you.

And while I’m gone, try a visit over here. Apparently I have a German twin! When I update my blogroll in 2009 I may well make a separate section for Chocolate Sheep sightings around the world. If you see one, please let me know about it!

Yesterday I purchased a 66 qt. plastic bin, 200 feet of clothesline, and 200 wooden clothespins for transporting the hats to school on Hat Day and displaying them between the basketball hoops. Does anyone know if 200 feet of clothesline is going to be enough?

It’s come to my attention that I haven’t posted a picture here of my Doctor Who Scarf, fully fringed. So here’s one!

 

Season 12 Doctor Who Scarf, fringe and all

Season 12 Doctor Who Scarf, fringe and all

Published in: on November 24, 2008 at 8:16 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/11/24/the-day-before-the-travel-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Have a great trip!

  2. Beautiful scarf, and I hope you are overwhelmed with Connor hats! Have a good trip, and eat lots of chocolate.

  3. Great scarf 🙂 It’s on my list one of these days…

    Hope the trip went well – we’re about to do the packing for our Christmas trip. Mind you 2/3 of our kids haven’t had presents bought for them yet which is fine if we had any ideas but we’re all out… *sigh*

  4. PS: If I hadn’t been so far behind on my blog reading I would have sent you a hat. We have had family experience of brain tumours.


Leave a Reply

