Hats and gifts and stuff

Connor Caps total: 1

But I have it on good authority that caps will start arriving soon, a few from France, some from Canada, and others from the States. The Connor Caps group on Ravelry now has members representing sixteen states and three other countries. WOW.

Connor himself has started chemo and radiation therapy, and after a rough start on the first day he was actually back at school on Wednesday, showing off his radiation mask for Show and Tell.

I nearly poked holes in my fingertips while making the beret, so I did shift to another project for the time being β€” an Everlasting Bagstopper from Amy Singer at Knitty. I can’t say enough about how cool this pattern is. It’s free, it’s fast, there’s almost no purling, it looks great, and did I mention there’s almost no purling? The only drawback right now is I’ll have to buy one more ball of Sugar & Cream yarn to finish it. Well boo freaking hoo, if that’s the worst thing happening right now. I’m sure I’ll be making whole batches of them.

Β 

In very slow progress

In very slow progress

The NaKnitSweMo sweater is still sitting there where I left it, begging me to finish the crew neck. Obviously I won’t have a sweater by the end of the month. But I’m not beating myself up because there’s so much other stuff going on. The sweater thing was really a vanity project, and I’ll be happy whenever it’s done. Meanwhile, Christmas gets a day closer every day. I’m trying to panic quietly.

And I haven’t put the fringe on the Who Scarf, either. That must be done before Thanksgiving. Just have to start and keep going, I guess. (Shout out to Dale-Harriett, who is finishing the knitting and weaving portion of Scarfness, and sidling up to the fringe as well. But it’s a quiet shout out, since she’s working on NaWriNoMo and keeping pace. I’d link, but I don’t want to disturb her.)

The “diet” resolve is holding steady so far. I don’t know why things are different this time. Maybe I finally set a goal that was low enough β€” do everything I can to lose one pound a week. This morning I woke up and I was craving to hop on the Nordic Track and exercise. (Maybe there was a little bit of craving for listening to Cast On as well, but it doesn’t matter to me if it’s working.) I’ve been drinking less alcohol, less soda, more water, having fewer snacks, and eating better portions of better food. Weigh-ins are on Sunday nights and I am not checking in the interim. But I feel better already.

To wrap up, I have started and frogged the brown Merino giftknit scarf three or four times now. I need some pattern suggestions for something quick and warm and soft. I don’t want to repeat using these patterns for this person: One-Row Handspun Scarf, Mistake Rib Stitch, or Garter stitch. I would also be so slow at any kind of overall ribbing that I’m dubious about that, too. Any thoughts?

Thanks for your prayers for Connor and your hats for the schoolkids, if you’re making them. If you need the mailing address, just say so in the comments and I’ll email you back with it. And if you’re on Ravelry, do join the group!

P.S. Top Chef returns and it’s off to a soul-crushing start! Why oh why do they allow competitors who are still in culinary school? That’s just cruel.

Published in: on November 13, 2008 at 2:31 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/11/13/hats-and-gifts-and-stuff/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love “boo freaking hoo”!

  2. I’m sooooo sorry I simply cannot knit a hat – it would end up being a total empty promise. I will however keep everyone in my prayers!!!

  3. For the Merino scarf – how about Crazy Aunt Purl’s Magic Scarf? It’s quick and a lot of fun. I’ve made two of them.

    Glad to hear Connor’s back in school. Sending lots of love his way (and some hats & stuff, pretty soon)! πŸ™‚

  4. I like the Cartridge Belt “Rib” stitch for a fast-knitting, cool-looking scarf (it’s not really a rib, there’s no purling, yay!). Someone put it on their blog as the Corrugator scarf (though I note that I knit it years before that on my own, finding the stitch in Barbara Walker’s 2nd Treasury). It’s an easy slipstitch pattern: well, you can google it, but basically cast on a multiple of 4 stitches plus 3; it’s a 2 row repeat.
    Row 1: *k3, slip one with yarn in front*, repeat to end of row, end k3
    Row 2: k1, *slip one with yarn in front, k3*, repeat to end of row, ending slip one, k1.
    That’s all, folks!
    If not now, I promise, you’ll want to try it in the future. Great gift scarf, especially if you want something simpler or more masculine-ish, though it’s not aggressively manly.

  5. My easy scarf pattern.
    Cast on a multiple of 6 plus 4.
    *Slip 1 with yarn in front,k1,slip one with yarn in front,knit 3*. Repeat from * to * ending sl 1,k 1,sl 1,k 1. Repeat this row for desired length.

  6. Oh dear, I’m procrastinating – but I can meet my goal before going to bed tonight. (Did I mention that I think I may just be All-Time-Master of Incomprehensible Drivel?) Anyway I’ll be e-mailing; I think your notion of a “fringe-in” is fab, and if we can arrange one, I’ll buy. Snack, beverages, wossname (and healthy, if possible…YAY YOU!)


Leave a Reply

