Casting on for Connor

It’s taken me long enough, but I finally cast on for a Connor Cap today. Actually it will be a beret since that’s the first pattern I could lay my hands on. Unfortunately, it was right after that moment when my two little boys decided there was nothing in the universe they wanted more than to be the only one to sit on my lap.

Jack: “Mom, what does ‘jealous’ mean?”

Considering everything in context, I did my best to hug and cuddle them instead of getting upset about the knitting I wasn’t doing.

Have you started a hat? If you’re scouring your stash for exactly the colors I specified, you can relax because I relaxed. Each of these hats will be unique anyway, so feel free to use your favorite (or most available) blue, gray, and gold. The goal here is a whole bunch of hats in a short time, and from the questions people have been asking me, I think I’ve been inappropriately fussy.

Connor’s still coming to school when he’s able, but he’s spending most of his time in a wheelchair.

I’m thinking about starting a Ravelry group for this project so that people can post their own pictures of their hats and yarns — what do you think? 

Published in: on November 6, 2008 at 1:01 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/11/06/casting-on-for-connor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a thoughtful project.
    I happen to have three skeins of a beautiful gray washable merino we got as yarn samples. I can use one for a Connor hat and would love to share the others if people need yarn.
    Will I see you at Knit Night tomorrow?
    oxo Jaala

  2. Hey, I’d join that Ravelry group, if I ever make it over to Ravelry again. This writing-a-novel-in-a-month business really sucks up the time. 🙂 I’ll be casting on for Connor & Friends this weekend!

  3. I’m in!! 🙂 You’re doing a wonderful thing!

  4. I’d love to see the hats that everyone is making.

  5. I’d jump in on Ravelry.

    I got very lucky and found the perfect shades at my LYS on lunch hour yesterday, and they were on sale! Go me! 🙂


Leave a Reply

