Scarf complete

It’s done, folks, my Series 12 Doctor Who Scarf is done. Just need to add some fringe and it’s perfectly complete. Right now it’s very busy keeping my neck warm and trying to stop my sniffles.

Yes, I’ve come down with something, but I’m happy to have a nice long wool scarf to make me feel better.

Let’s see if I can show off a little.

Doctor Who Scarf 10/23/08

Doctor Who Scarf 10/23/08

My goodness, it appears to be letting me put a picture in.

Well, what else is there to talk about? I have a day trip to the house tomorrow, to help pick a new real estate agent, shoot some pictures for a possible magazine article, and have a mini meetup with a Ravelry knitter. Then we’re off to pick up the kids and get them back home too late to go to their school Halloween party. That wasn’t the original intention, it’s just probably the way it’s going to work out. My daughter asked me this morning why we “never go to Halloween parties.” Sorry sweetie.

Last Sunday we dressed the kids up and took them to their great-grandparents’ house for a practice trick or treat. We ended up with a World War I flying ace, Little Red Riding Hood, a skeleton, and a cowboy. And no cameras. Sorry! I hope they will allow themselves to be the same things again at another time. They looked good.

I’m a little under the weather right now, but have the perfect piece of mindless knitting to work on. It will probably be someone’s Christmas present, but I don’t know whose yet. I was working on it last night at a Girl Scout (okay, Daisy Scout) meeting and a five year old came up, stared at my hands, and said, “Will you make one of them for me?” She was a little scary, but I offered to teach her to knit and she said yes. There’s a “big brother” of one of Tom’s daycare classmates who’s also watching the progress, so now I may have sufficient social pressure to complete the project.

 

Pastel Triangle Shawl

Pastel Triangle Shawl

I like working on this, but now that the Scarf is off the needles I can finish the socks and the Christmas knitting.

However, this morning I learned about NaKniSweMo, National Knit a Sweater Month, in November. Do you think I can do it? Do you think I should try? I already have the pattern, the yarn, and the needles.

Published in: on October 24, 2008 at 8:38 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/10/24/scarf-complete/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The scarf looks fabulous. Congratulations on finishing the tons of striped garter goodness!

  2. The scarf looks fantastic! Yes, you should totally try NaKniSweMo. I’d join you, but I’ve already committed to NaNoWriMo, and I can’t possibly knit a sweater AND write a novel in the same month. I don’t think. 🙂

  3. Oh dear, I wish you hadn’t told me about WaKniSweMo, because a friend requested a cardigan to match the one I made for her toddler and now I feel even MORE pressure to honor her request! Ack! Guess that means I’ll have to put aside moebius shawl #2 (I love mine so much I decided to make one for a friend whose birthday is in December). Congrats on finishing the Dr. Who scarf; it’s great! I have a cold, too; maybe I’ll dig out a scarf and see if it helps me.

  4. The scarf is wonderful! Maybe I should join in the Sweater-along. I need to finish at least one this year!

  5. LOL–I just finished the Doctor Who scarf, as well–a gift for a friend. Mine’s got its fringe and is already bundled up with a bow, though.

    And it took me more like…six months to knit (is embarassed).


Leave a Reply

