Long live the queen

Hi all. I’ve actually gotten a couple of things done, lately. 

For instance, on the last possible day, I did make sure my kids were registered for school. They all have backpacks, and their milk money is prepaid for the whole year.

Also on the last possible day, I went to the bus service and made sure the bus would indeed pick them up.

I washed things, dried things, put away things, and redesigned half a room, too!

This afternoon, I seamed up a mitten which is all done except for the thumb tip. I think I’ll leave that until the mate is at the same stage, then do both the thumbs at the same time.

Last night I watched the last four episodes of Series 4 of Doctor Who. I’m still numb, but at least now those spoilers are all gone. (Now it’s time to catch up on Torchwood and get rid of those spoilers.)

But yesterday afternoon I was crowned Queen.

I was outside with all the kids (I know, I should have taken a picture to prove it) on one of the Last Perfect Days of Summer, when a game developed in which we would try to throw a miniature basketball over the garage. James started, and after many tries was oh so close to making it. Then he handed me the ball.

“Here, Mom, I know you can do it.”
“What makes you so sure?”
“Well, I’m so close, and you’re stronger than me.”

He turned out to be right — on my first try I launched that ball all the way over the roof and into the vegetable garden on the other side.

Colleen, however, was the most impressed. She rushed up to me, gave me a huge hug, and announced to all the world, “Mom! You are the queen of throwing things over the roof!!” 

I wondering if they’re hiring for throwing things over the roof … and if they pay in wool.

Published in: on August 30, 2008 at 1:14 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/long-live-the-queen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. FABULOUS! I bow before you, oh Queen of Throwing Things Over the Roof. That is no small thing and I can fully appreciate the level of coolth involved. There are lots of opportunities for your display of greatness, you’ll see! You know – we girls hear things all our lives that are mighty fine: “Will you marry me?” and “Congratulations, you have a 4.0 GPA” and “It’s a girl (boy)” But one of the neatest thing we can hear is “Mom, you are SO COOL!!”

  2. There are few things in life quite so sweet as impressing one’s child.


Leave a Reply

