Ravelympics, Day whatever

I think it’s fair to say I haven’t been keeping up with anything. (I don’t know why this would surprise anybody.)

First, the Ravelympics. I cast on for the second wristwarmer pretty soon after I bound off the first one, just to take advantage of the momentum. Got the ribbing done, check. Kept going and did 8-1/3 rounds of the pattern, remembering to start on Row 4 and not Row 1. But that 8-1/3, that’s where it all started to go wrong.

I don’t even remember now what night that was, but I was trying to watch some Series 4 Doctor Who at the same time. At the end of the episode I realized I didn’t really know what was going on, since my eyes had been shut half the time. Saw a clone of Freema Agyeman climbing out of a bathtub n@ked, there was a lot of frantic running around….. I think I’ll have to watch it again. (Things could be worse.)

But the point is that the next night when I picked up my knitting and tried to continue, I didn’t know what to do. I couldn’t tell what round I was on, or what part of the round. There was a hole, there was not the number of stitches there should have been, and down there at the cable cross was something that looked suspiciously like a stitch, hanging out like a little outie belly button. Apparently I do not knit at all well in my sleep.

So. I pulled out the needles and wound the yarn all back up. Until yesterday at Irish Fest when I cast on again in the curragh tent. Got my stitches on, knitted two rounds, and took it all to the dance tent at the other end of the festival, in hopes of crossing paths with RavPal Criosa/Cristy. I didn’t see her there but finished the eight rounds of ribbing. (Hooray!)

And we did end up meeting, but in the curragh tent. She also knew some of the rowers, and before I knew it people were asking me if I wanted to go out rowing in one of the racing curraghs. My husband’s been trying to get me to do this for a while, but I have Resisted. I think I knew I would like it, but didn’t know how we would swing both of us being in the club. Who’s going to watch those kids while we’re out rowing, I ask.

Well, we’ll work something out, because I loved it. Got five quick calluses, none of which bled, and made that curragh fly. Mr. Beth was steering and another rower, Mark, sat behind me and captained us both, and everything came together fairly quickly. So maybe, just maybe, if I start exercising aGAIN, I could be rowing for the team at next year’s Fest.

And Criosa? Took pictures of the whole thing, swear to God.

I had another meetup while I was at Irish Fest, but I’ll save that for another post.

Current Projects I’m Actually Working On:

Bamboo socks: waiting for black yarn to do the toes.
Cotton footies: started these for my grandmother. They’re really like dorm boots, but I’m doing them in Peaches and Cream for no good reason other than she didn’t want wool, and I had this yarn already. If you can comment with a useful instruction for doing a p2tog tbl, you will win a prize because I will be so grateful. That’s where I’m stuck in the pattern.
RWW: ready to start the pattern tonight for Mitt Two.
Secret Projects: the count is now at 2.
Doctor Who Scarf: As of 3pm this afternoon, I now officially have more than enough of the yarn I need to do the Scarf. Now I just have to finish all the above projects, so that can be the one that runs in the background. 

I’m still working on organizing this wonderful afterparty. If you’re not on Ravelry and you’re planning to come, drop me a line to let me know how many free tickets you need. If you’re on Ravelry, PM me there. Thanks! And if you can help with setup on Friday night or Saturday afternoon, or cleanup on Saturday night, double thanks!

You won’t freaking believe the door prizes that are rolling in. O.M.G. I wish I could win one!

Published in: on August 18, 2008 at 8:58 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/ravelympics-day-whatever/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oooh, were you watching the Atmos episode of DW? With all the cars going to h*ll in a handbag? That was a good one.

    P2tog tbl?! That’s just mean. I just tried it on this mitten I have sitting here…I had to have the empty needle pointing in the wrong direction (with yarn in front) in order to stick it through the back of the next two stitches, and then do a bit of pulling to get the needle into a position where I could execute the purl. It’s a bit fiddly, but it worked. (It’s still mean.) 🙂

  2. I’m so jealous! You go to attend the Festival AND ROW. You lucky ducky!
    PS-The belly button comment made coffee come out my nose!

  3. Note to self: pay attention when Irish Fest is coming around again! (Is this the one here, as opposed to Milwaukee? ‘Cause we saw Gaelic Storm here once time and we love them!) Remind me (at your leisure) about the Festival and after-party; I’ll sure try to be of some assistance in there! MY Dr Who scarf is now officially appreciably taller than I am….

  4. I’m gonna paraphrase Abby here: it would be *so* much easier to show you over a beer than to try to explain. Come on over for some drunk knitting and I’ll have you p2togging tbl in no time.

  5. I think that to p2tog tbl you crank your right wrist around so the right needle tip is pointing at your right shoulder, then insert it into the back loop of the last two stitches on the left needle and INSERTING LEFT TO RIGHT. I just did it on the scarf I am making, and it seems nearly impossible unless you were smart enough to knit/purl the stitches on the previous row really, really loosely.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

