Flood update: Whither summer school?

All is still okay here. The dams seem to be holding up in our areas, but the water is unbelievably high. I can’t actually get into town to see it for myself, but I spoke with someone in Jefferson today who has been helping sandbag the Sanitation Plant, so she knows what she’s talking about.

The town is ripped apart. The water got up to the bottoms of the bridges and engineers had to drill holes through them to release the pressure that was building up. There are three main bridges in town and all of them are closed, so it takes half an hour to get from one side to the other when it used to take ten seconds.

My source described downtown Jefferson as a ghost town. Everything’s closed or flooded out. There’s a little burger place on a corner where it flash floods in a hard rain, and she described the water as being past the level of the drive-up window. At first I thought she meant, that far away from the road. No, she meant that far up from the ground. No burgers today.

I was calling her to find out if summer school for the incoming kindergarteners was being delayed as I had hard; it was supposed to start this Tuesday. She said they can’t decide what to do with it yet. They have over 1,000 children enrolled for this — and no way to get them to the now-flooding building where the program was going to be held. The earliest day they might start is this Friday. Maybe. I will have to check the school district website day by day for updates.

We did go out to Milwaukee today to see my FIL, and though the rivers and lakes were up quite a bit, we weren’t in any actual flooded roadways. The trip east wasn’t a problem; west was another matter, as they closed the freeway miles before truly necessary in order to divert big trucks and major traffic to the best detours. So we crawled along, watching drivers try to whip past on the left, think about whipping past on the right, swing into the left lane to try to keep people from whipping around them to the left, and so on. I don’t know what it was about the signs “FREEWAY CLOSED AHEAD” that made people think that risking their lives to be one car length closer to the detour that everyone was taking, was worth it. After we got off the freeway all our local roads were fine.

Knitwise? I’m not getting much done. I have been doing some test knitting for a Ravelry friend, doing a row or two of the heelflap scarf every once in a while, and generally not being very enthused about my other projects. But tonight, in honor of father’s day and the father/dad of my children, I think I’ll start the heel flaps of his Panda Cotton socks.

I didn’t get any spinning done this weekend, and I’m bummed about that, too. I spun three weekends in a row and started little file cards to document each fiber. I did finish some Actual Yarn and will blog about that on Spinning Wheels when I get a chance.

Stay dry — pray for us — help whoever you can, wherever you are.

Published in: on June 15, 2008 at 9:42 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/flood-update-whither-summer-school/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s official: I’m going to stop complaining about the swamp that forms in our backyard every time it rains. Not being able to get to our shed is nothing compared to what’s happening in Wisconsin and Iowa (and in Indiana a week or two ago), and I know it perfectly well!

    My thoughts and best wishes are with everyone in the flood zones. Stay dry!

  2. Thanks for the update! I’m glad you are safe and sound!

  3. Glad to hear you’re still high and dry. Downtown Waukesha hasn’t faired so well. The Fox River has flooded and for a few days Downtown was closed.

  4. No flooding in n.w. Wisconsin, but my heart aches for those who are not so lucky. Take care.

  5. I loved that little hamburger stand. In high school one of my best friends worked at it.

    Our flooded basement is nothing compared to what all the others here in Wisconsin are going through.

    My prayers are with everyone who is having to go through the clean up and rebuilding this has caused.

  6. Isn’t this amazing?? I wondered at the lack of mention of the Mississippi, and LO, it hath been spoken. I was in St Louis during the last Great Flood and saw a very nice restaurant on what had been the bank of the river — only now it was up to its earknobs. When I wake to sunshine I think “Oh, thank heavens…time to make a little progress”

  7. I’ve been thinking about you guys….well, when I haven’t been wacked out on Vicodan. Then I’m thinking about spaghetti eating dragons. It’s a long story. Hope you guys are keeping afloat and that things get better soon!

  8. You alive?

    Yo – I finally did the meme you tagged me for! 🙂 I kinda cheated on the tag other people part. I’m so bad.


Leave a Reply

