The first page is the hardest

So, I’m writing this book. And as I spent one hour tonight researching a single craft store that’s going to be part of the book, it occurred to me…

This is going to be a lot of work.

I’ve been planning this book for a while. It’s a directory of all the craft stores in Wisconsin, and there are a lot of ’em. And every time I get in the car I wish I had written this d@mn book already so I could look up directions, store hours, and who’s open on Sunday. Nope, not yet.

But soon!

This month I am verifying all my data on almost 400 stores. And if you live in Wisconsin and are close to a craft store of any type, I could probably use your help. (E-mail me! Please!!) If you don’t want to help, I could use your moral support.

Or at least your understanding that, in January, I probably will be writing new posts closer to midnight than noon. Don’t give up, I’m still here and still knitting and the kids are still trying to steer the ship. Funny stuff is still happening, and (thanks to a kind benefactress) pictures of all of the above are coming soon.

I’m also busy playing Biggest Loser: The Home Game with DH. I’m not going to publish any raw data on The Internet Tubes, but I’m willing to share the percentage of weight loss and who was the winner for the week. We’ll weigh in on Tuesdays after we watch the show (NBC, 8/7 Central). We both have to break some bad, ingrained habits so it won’t be easy. But we both want to be healthier, so this is it.

Oh! And I knit a sock! We’ll just call it FO2008_01 for now. (More details are on the 2008 Finished Objects page that I just started.) I want to make a count of everything I finished in 2007 and update that FO page, too.

And who knows, if I can get all that done I might as well put pictures in my Ravelry notebook. But let’s not bite off more than we can chew, okay?

Published in: on January 2, 2008 at 10:44 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2008/01/02/the-first-page-is-the-hardest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The Wisconsin-crafting contingent is lucky to have you looking out for them! Meanwhile, I’m sending moral support from Ohio. *waves*

    The first sock is the hardest, too – I think everyone’s first few socks are a bit off-kilter. Mine certainly were. 🙂 You’ll get the hang of it!

  2. I’ll help you with your craft store book info. I live in SE WI, just let me know what sort of info you need. Good luck on being the Biggest Loser, we could all stand to be healthier!

  3. WOW! That’s a project for ya! I’m sure you know all of the ones I know in the area, but if I hear of any more I’ll let you know. I can email MIL in Marshfield area and see what she knows if you’d like.

  4. Great project! I live in n.w. Wisconsin. Email me for help on this area. There are not a lot, but that makes it even more important that they be included, right?

  5. You know I’ve got SW Wisconsin covered! And if I’m forced to make field trips to gather information; well, I will make that sacrifice, because that’s just the way I am!
    😉


Leave a Reply

