Rabbit hole #263

I don’t know quite how to say this, but….

I may have done crochet today.

There were these vintage wooden hooks I just happened to have…. and, of course, plenty of little leftover balls of yarn…. and I must have just seen so much crochet done on Knitty Gritty and Uncommon Threads and what-have-you… that eventually it started to make sense.

I think.

I’ll get a photo up here as soon as I can so you double-threat folks can figure out what I did. Because I think I was putting the needle through the wrong loop, but I definitely had something crochet-like going with where the yarn was going.

On the other hand, the original chain I did was complete arse. The last time I did that (for abortive attempts at toe-up socks shortly after the Summer 2007 IK came out, thank you very much Ann Budd) I didn’t even have to think about it, and it came out fine. Not now.

Sigh.

Knitwise, I’m trying to do at least one color band a day on the Ravenclaw scarf, and contemplating starting a scarf for my father for Christmas. He wants something that won’t curl up, so I think an acrylic Harlot one-row will do it. Two skeins of something or a combination of somethings.

And I’m so looking forward to the Knit Night at The Sow’s Ear this Friday night (Hi Molly Bee! Hi SABLE! Hi Dale-Harriet!) that I have already started packing the knitting bag. Wow, how sick is that. (Probably not that sick once I check around on Ravelry. But.) Our little “Hog and Blog” group is looking to formalize ever so slightly, to the point of trying to claim a corner of our own at the Knit Night. Wow, sitting together. Who knows what could happen next!

Published in: on November 14, 2007 at 10:57 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/11/14/rabbit-hole-263/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You’re…going over to the HOOK side?? Oh NOOOOoooooo! (Actually, I have been known to crochet – I’ll bring along “The Mary Frances Knitting and Crocheting Book” – a reprint from 1918, for a chortle or two; I sooooooo love it!) I’ll pack my knitting basket too, and see you Friday Night!

  2. oh man… I want to move now too, so I can join the “Hog and Blog”! 🙂

    I won’t tell anyone about your incident with the hook if maybe sometime you teach me how to use one.. haahah

  3. Ooo! When you’re at the Ear tomorrow, you will have to check out the enterlac scarf they have. I bought the yarn and pattern last week and am planning on making one for my FIL for Xmas!

  4. You cannot resist…come over to the Double-Threat side…we don’t bite, but we do brag about how quickly we can turn out a cute hat with our hook. (And by “we,” I mean “me.”) 🙂

  5. Damn, another knitting opportunity foiled! 🙂 Have fun at the Sow, I’ll be thinking of you broads, I mean “hogs”, I mean…what do I mean? knitting your hearts out:) Have fun!

  6. +

    Nice number for the rabbit hole. 🙂


Leave a Reply

