Rugrat attack

That’s all I can claim…. it was a long week with my parents visiting, during which I somehow had less time to read blogs, let alone write on my own. It’s been a couple of days now and things are somewhat settling back into their usual chaos.

I have a new FO — the Puppy Tstocking. I love it and want to make more.

So, naturally, I cast one for another Christmas project, the First Year Ravenclaw scarf from Charmed Knits. I’m working on it only when my son’s not looking, so he’ll still be surprised when he sees it in its finished form. Why this is going to work when he was along on the trip to the LYS where I purchased the yarn for the project, I don’t know. It’s just one of my little quirks that I think it will.

IHS fans, rejoice, I’m nearing the end, even though I’m getting in just one repeat every few days. And none all last week.

Unfortunately, I had my Red Scarf project with me on Sunday and managed to snap one of my Lantern Moon size 5s right in half. It made a soft but beautiful sound and as soon as it happened I knew just what it was. Luckily it wasn’t the needle holding the live stitches, but still. I had made a conscious choice to bring the project with me, even though I knew I wouldn’t be able to knit a stitch, and here I was. The project is on a nice sturdy Susan Bates Quicksilver and it just. isn’t. the. same.

So I’m back to working on all these projects in small portions, being Mrs. Mom the other 23 hours of the day.

Props to Mr. Beth, who stopped by a yarn store before/after going to the Wisconsin game, and picked out a skein of alpaca/merino blend for some socks. OK, they’re going to be for him, but still he gets 20,000 points.  What a nice guy!

Published in: on November 12, 2007 at 11:11 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/11/12/rugrat-attack/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well done with the IHS… I am psyching myself up to rip mine and reknit as an adpated version (2 cables probably but will work it out as I go). I love the pattern & love the wool, just not an ideal combination without tweaking.

    I’m under orders to knit a RC scarf for my oldest son too. My second boy is Gryffindor and I should really knit something for him next but whatever it is will be for next winter now.

    Have a good week 🙂

  2. I have a covert project, too, for the pretty grown up girl who complains that I never knit her anything. I’m a secret agent on a secret mission…

  3. Kudos to Mr. Beth! Mr. Bee is only at the gift-certificate-to-the-yarn-store stage rather than the actual pick-out-the-yarn stage. But there’s no shame in that. And there’s still time to learn from shining examples like Mr. Beth! You coming to Knit Night Fri?

  4. Ooooh – an orphan needle! Grim, heartbreaking. Maybe it can be friends with my poor orphan #9 Brittany. Say, you know that two-color stranding on the pupsock? I’m reminded of that by the new “Holiday Knits” 41-cent stamps, could you maybe show me sort of how you do that thing? And I’m with Molly Bee, you going to be at Late-Night? (I propose a Hog-and-Blog corner….) And may we see either a picture of the Puppy Tstocking, or the FO itself? (Promise I won’t tell the dog-in-question about it and let the cat out of the bag!)

  5. Congrats to Mr. Beth — entering a yarn store and bringing home yarn is a wonderful thing.

    So where’s the Perilla review — I can see everything but that? We went this summer and loved it, but I want to see what someone else thought.


Leave a Reply

