fee fi FO fum

Finally, a finished object! (Pretend you can see it right here. Isn’t it lovely?)

I still have to weave in the ends, but last night I bound off the Wonder Skein Bias Scarf. And although the handspun I was working with had a bouclé element, and ran from thick and fuzzy to thin and almost wiry, I enjoyed every stitch of it.

For just 178 yards. Sigh. Remind me, if/when I am spinning my own yarn, to make sure I put a little more than that in a finished skein. (Especially if I have the cojones to charge someone nearly $50 for it.) My scarf, which I love dearly, is 3.5 inches (9cm) wide and 52 inches (132cm) long.

So, that brings the current project list to:

  • Tyrone. Still stalled, but I took it to Knit Night and dragged it out, and was reassured by much more experienced knitters that bottom-up raglan sweaters just look like that for a bit, and get easier to knit after the first couple of rows following the attaching of the sleeves.
  • Red Scarf. Which won’t possibly get done in time for the Red Scarf Project deadline of October 15, so it has probably turned into a Christmas present. (Hooray! I’m ahead of schedule!)
  • Irish Hiking Scarf.  Time to resume my one-repeat-per-evening schedule.
  • Salt and Pepper Sock. Still haven’t cast on for the mate. Ha, as if that’s going to happen anytime soon.
  • Packer hat. While I was at The Sow’s Ear I found washable wool in Packer colors. So I need to work my Intarsia chart on my practice yarn and work out the details of the practice hat.

That reminds me, if you were watching the Packers-Bears game this Sunday, did you see the fellow wearing the green and gold crocheted bucket hat with the stitches worked around panels cut from aluminum beer cans? Very classy. I think the cans were actually from Pabst Blue Ribbon cans, which makes no sense at all.

In family news, Tom’s test came back negative for Celiac disease. Which is a relief of course, but we’re still trying to find the puzzle piece to explain which he’s such a little mite and doesn’t absorb enough iron. If you have any suggestions, drop me an e-mail.

Published in: on October 9, 2007 at 7:51 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/10/09/fee-fi-fo-fum/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hurray for the hallowed and rare “Finished Object.” I once saw one while canoeing down the Congo River in the wilds of dark Africa but that was many years ago and I had begun to fear it was extinct. We need to alert the authorities.

    In feeling for the family news, I’m glad wee Tom doesn’t have Celiac Disease but wonder WTFIW? Perchance the FO sighting will begin a period of questions answered. Let’s hope so.

  2. Yeah for you on your finished scarf!

    I am glad you got that news about Tom, but sorry you still don’t know what the deal is. I’ll keep my ears out

  3. Yippee for finishing 1 of your UFO’s. Your list looks shorter already, 5 UFO’s aren’t too many! Good news about your son, but sorry to hear they don’t know what is the problem.

  4. Wow – your finished object is gorgeous (?):) I’m sorry to hear you are still trying to figure out what’s up with the little guy – I’ll add him to my prayers – take care!
    Stacey

  5. Yay! You GO Girl!


Leave a Reply

