Merrily we slog along

Not much to report here. I seem to have acquired a gentle form of knitmojo, and things are flowing nicely as long as I don’t try to do everything at once. Perhaps it could have something to do with the fact that the two active projects are scarves.

So… yesterday I joined the second ball of yarn to Red Scarf. The end of the first skein ran out at the end of a row, so I actually had to tink back a few stitches so I would have something to weave in. Fortunately I have lots of practice with that now, and it was completely stress-free.

Before I scared away the mojo, I set that project down and picked up the IHS. I had the whole repeat done just after Top Chef ended (sorry Brian, but we didn’t think you’d make it to the final three. We were worried about Casey for a bit there, though).

The big knitting news yesterday was that I took the kids to the town’s two resale shops, and picked up some vintage single points. How’s 25 cents a pair? I got a pair of Boye size 8’s in red aluminum, a pair of someone’s size 6’s in green aluminum, and a lone wooden singlepoint with a green acorn cap, 8mm. 25 cents for the single on that one, ooh big spender. All of these needles were about 13 inches long.

I also snagged most of a cone of some very fine, soft turquoise yarn. I’m still investigating exactly what the fiber content is, but since I only paid 75 cents for it, it’s a bargain no matter what it is.

Most of the rest of the yarns at the thrift stores were harsh acrylic rug yarns (Aunt Lydia, anyone?). I did see a couple unfinished projects bagged up and for sale. Doesn’t this just tug at your heartstrings: “Child’s sweater, almost finished, $3.” (Peach maybe-acrylic.) There’s an unfinished cable sweater in brown for $10, too. If anyone would like to adopt and finish these acts of love, I will gladly purchase them for you and ship them to you in exchange for local yarn.

Oh… I also saw handknit socks for sale too. They were really something, knit from an orange/brown/white 3-ply. Probably many years ago, and looks like they were never worn.

For those of you keeping track, my Ravelry number is 376 as of 9 am today. UPDATE: At 12:30 pm, I was number 188. Thank goodness I found my camera cable today. UPDATE UPDATE: At 4:15 pm, I am number 128. I had better start taking pictures and figuring out Flickr.

To round out the post, here are my favorite words gleaned from knitting blogs. I am an English major and a sometimes freelance writer/editor, and I love new language that makes sense.

knitblogosphere. self-explanatory, isn’t it? šŸ™‚
mojo. Would anyone but Doors fans be using this term if it weren’t for Austin Powers?
juju. The opposite of mojo.
tink. K-N-I-T backwards to undo.
camnesia. The act of forgetting your camera, or forgetting to take pictures for your blog during the Big Event.
embiggen. As in, “click on the picture to make it bigger.”

What is your favorite knitblogospeak?

Published in: on September 27, 2007 at 7:40 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/09/27/merrily-we-slog-along/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Camnesia! I totally have that. Good to know there’s a word for it. šŸ™‚ We say “embiggen” all the time round here, but we borrowed it from The Simpsons, which is an excellent place for word-borrowing.

  2. I totally agree with Jules about Th Simpsons! Another good Simpsons word is “cromulent.” Hee hee!

  3. I personally like “biggify” (not my invention) for clicking on the photos to make them bigger. And maybe I’m the only knitter on the planet who doesn’t know, but what is Ravelry?


Leave a Reply

