Sock this

Sigh. There is no efficient way to describe yesterday. I will just say that taking three small children to the grocery store was much more enjoyable and productive than taking four children to the doctor’s office with an exam room smaller than many master-bedroom closets.

The details won’t be posted here (except to say that the doctor himself was an angel, it’s everyone else [including my own children] that was difficult), but the upshot was that when the kids realized the depths of my frustration and asked, “Where are we going?” I pointed the car towards a yarn shop. One I had only heard of, but was sure I could find.

Find it I did. It’s a combination quilt and yarn shop called Loose Threads. It’s almost all quilts, but they were sympathetic and led me to the yarn room. Noro. Jo Sharp. Plymouth Galway Chunky. They even brought me coffee and asked if that would help. Aaaaaahhhhhhhh.

I walked out with patterns for the Fiber Trends Felted Clogs (adult and child sizes — different patterns, take note!), all-purpose mittens, the Knitter’s Handy Guide to Yarn Requirements, and two tiny 50g skeins of Waikiki in a colorway that is not typical for me. I think it is called “Spring,” and it is yellow and orange and red and purple. Really bright, with slubs all through it. I’m thinking a pair of footies for myself. To cheer me up.

I also found a lovely quilt shop right in downtown Jefferson, but I’ll go into more details whenever I get a chance to get into quilt mode. I hope that comes soon. Because I have quilts to finish.

Knitwise, last night I Kitchenered the toe on the second baby tsock, and sent the leftover Dalegarn Falk to the yarn bucket. Five needles liberated. I tried to work on my Dianne hat, but had no idea where I was or what I should do next, so I should probably tink back whatever it was I did last night, and be more thoughtful about it next time. I could always frog the whole self-invented thing but I’d really rather see it through. I will have to get a plan and a running start.

I knitted a little bit on the red scarf but by then was really tired. I’m searching around for a picture on the Internet Tubes, because surely this stitch pattern is Already Out There. But I haven’t found it yet, even after a full five seconds of Googling.

The llama owner called me back, yes she has fiber, no she doesn’t know what to do with it. This could be the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Oh yeah, Top Chef was on last night. Good call on sending home the chef who served the undercooked chicken to the judges. But tell me again how Brian Malarkey made it to the finals? To me, he just doesn’t have the “presence” of a Top Chef. Harold “the quiet one” had it. (Mr. Beth is going to try to have a meal at Harold’s restaurant while he’s on this business trip. He will have to bring back some proof!) And good luck Dale, but this house is rooting for Casey.

Published in: on September 20, 2007 at 11:24 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/09/20/sock-this/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sheesh, that really WAS an emergency!

    Now… when do we get to see pictures of this tsocklet, eh?

  2. Hi Beth. My daughter (7) has just started learning to knit and is getting a kick out of it. Thanks for dropping by my blog; I will poke around here a bit. I enjoy topical blogs with an “outlier” (evidently chocolate in your case!)

    Oh, and I would like to hear about Harold’s place. I wanted to go last week during an overnight in NYC, but scheduling didn’t allow.

  3. Ooo! I’ve always wanted to try clogs. Lemme know how you make out with the pattern!

  4. I’m so glad you found the yarn store, because if you were desperate enough to take the kids to one at the spur of the moment – who knows what would have happened if you hadn’t been able to help yourself with retail therapy!

    Love the color of the yarn you picked 🙂

    And let me whisper into your ear, “Can I be friends with your new alpaca friend too?: 🙂 hehe

  5. You QUILT, too??? Goodness, girl, where WILL you fit in spinning? I DO need to remember that although I just have one small child (but remember, I had him when I was 40, so it FEELS like I have four – ha!) I also run a part-time graphics business, help a little in my husband’s business, and take care of a small flock of sheep and a small herd of horses. My spinning and knitting gets shoe-horned in whenever I can (not often enough!).

  6. I’ve always wanted to make those clogs; they’ve been on my someday list for some time now. Let me know how your turn out. Maybe I’ll move them up a space or ten.


Leave a Reply

