A spring, a spring, a marvelous thing

I know everyone is soooo excited about this, but yesterday I actually did make it to the hardware store. I got a parking space right in front of it, then looked at the storefront and read all the signs. The big news? That hardware store has been consolidated into a bigger one (still local). One with a parking lot, bigger aisles, more staff, etc. I ended up with a pair of springs that sort of matched my old one, plus some 3-in-One oil in a neat container that has a telescoping nozzle.

After the hardware store trip I drove around looking for fiber farms. I passed two farms with sheep, and one with llamas. (Actually I left my name at the llama farm to see if they had any fiber for sale.) This was all within ten miles of my house. (The same radius includes a winery, honey for sale, an organic farm, and at least two places that sell eggs.)

There was no further knitting or fiber content to my life until the Cub Scout meeting, during which Colleen got to play at the school playground (Jack didn’t because he hid his shoes, which are still AWOL). And that’s when I ā€” gasp!! ā€” cast on for a scarf for the Red Scarf Project. I will have to check their deadline to see if I can really make and send a scarf in time, otherwise it’s somebody else’s Christmas present.

Free Red Scarf Pattern from Chocolate Sheep
Cast on 33 stitches any way you like.
Row 1 (wrong side): knit 2, *purl 1, knit 1, repeat from *, end with knit 2.
Row 2 (right side): knit all stitches.
Repeat Rows 1-2 until scarf is desired length.
Bind off.

But after I got everyone to bed, I oiled up the wheel and attached a new spring. And tried to spin. And tried and tried and tried. I am not treadling smoothly enough (is one of the problems I am having).

I managed to quit just before I got furiously upset, and switched over to knitting. I brought the Baby Tsock all the way up to the last 16 stitches for Kitchenering, which I can knock off tonight. And I went for the Red Scarf, only to see one of my needles was misplaced. The rosewood Lantern Moon, sob! But I found it this morning next to my purse, so everything is fine. (I promptly sat down and knitted two more rows on the scarf. Just because I could.)

Also last night I got a Flickr account set up. Now if only I could find the cable that connects the camera to the computer. I suppose I can get started, pre-Ravelry, by taking pictures of all my projects. And I can get all my needles in the same place to prepare for inventory.

Today is the “big” shopping in Watertown with 3 kids, then picking up the oldest on the way to a doctor appointment for the youngest. It all starts when Colleen comes home on a big bus rather than the cutie-pie bus she usually rides. What fun, wish you could join me!

Published in: on September 19, 2007 at 6:53 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/09/19/a-spring-a-spring-a-marvelous-thing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ooh, a honey place! I love local honey places. Do they sell it in those little sticks?

    You’re going shopping with FOUR KIDS? How do you DO it?! šŸ™‚

  2. Keep at it with the spinning. It is so totally worth it when it works. Oooo! Watertown has a great ice cream parlor!

  3. I bought some llama fiber on eBay, but haven’t even opened the box yet. If you get to llama first, let me know what you think. Remember, treadle S-L-O-W-L-Y.

  4. Did ya find the shoes? I hate it when the loose them! One of Austin’s was under the couch this morning – ugh!

  5. What does that scarf pattern look like knitted up? I can’t envision it. Do you have a finished one you could post a photo of?


Leave a Reply

