Top Five Movie Quotes

I got the idea for this post from Crafty Peach. It’s not a meme, and nobody’s tagging anybody, so don’t worry. But I thought it would be interesting to share the top movie quotes from our household.

Mr. Beth is the primary movie-chooser in our household, and he likes gangster / heist type of movies, so there might be more than their share from that genre. But I promise to keep it clean. The spam is tapering off (sorry for your dunk in the spam bucket, Miz Molly, but I got you out as soon as I saw you there) and I’d like to keep it that way.

Top Five Dooley Family Movie Quotesย 

1. “I don’t want to get into a semantic argument. I just want the protein.” Martin Blank, from Grosse Pointe Blank, after arguing with the waitress in the diner. I had thought this movie would be far too violent and I would hate it. But it is funny and ironic and well written and well, there’s John Cusack.

2. “No, ma’am. We’re musicians.” And 1000 other quotes from The Blues Brothers, which my children know as a movie about a Catholic school fundraiser. Also: “I gotta pull over,” “This mall has everything,” and “Glue. Strong stuff.” I could go on for about 133 to 148 minutes, depending on which version I’m watching. So stop me now. “I’m gonna get that sucka, if it’s the last thing I ever do.” “What car are we in? / Five-five. / Car fifty-five. We’re in a truck!” OK, I told you to stop me. “Wrong glass, sir.” “Chicken wire?!?” “Those lights are off on purpose.”

3. “I want out of this family.” From Jeanie, Ferris Bueller‘s long-suffering sister. We also like to do the slow-car-ahead-of-me wave that Lyman Ward does near the end of the movie. As well as sing the “bom-bom, chicka chickaaaa” part at the very very end. Also “So that’s how it is in their family” when the principal watches Ferris kiss Sloane before they leave the school grounds.

4. “Helen? You look like a Helen” from Tommy Boy. And you’d better believe that every time we drive through Helenville, one of us is bound to say, “You look like a Helenville.” Also “Brothers don’t shake hands, brothers gotta HUG,” “What kind of hotel is this, anyway?” and “I’m picking up your sarcasm / You should, I’m laying it on pretty thick.” The soundtrack CD has the best music from the film, as well as memorable quotes, but if you turn it up loud enough for the quotes, you’ll deafen yourself when the music plays.

5. Finally…. the granddaddy of all quotable cult films, Spinal Tap. “And the question is, how more black could this be? And the answer is none… none more black.” “So you keep folding, and folding, and it’s a complete disaster.” “Kick this a$$. Kick this a$$ for a man.” “She means DOLBY.” “Don’t even point.” “You can’t really dust for vomit.” “If I told them once, I told them a thousand times, Spinal Tap first, then puppet show.” “What’s wrong with being sexy? / Sex-IST! IST!”

I feel better now. Thanks to Jules for the idea! And by the way, we do watch current releases. We just don’t have them memorized yet. There wasn’t room here for Ghostbusters, Back to the Future I/II/III, Anchorman, Best of Show, the Godfather series, Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill, or….

But while I have your attention I simply must tell you how excited we are that the special double-length Backyardigans episode, Super Secret Super Spy, debuts next Monday night at 7pm Eastern. I think Lauren and I are both about to explode, it looks like so much fun.

I haven’t done anything on Tyrone for a couple of days… still waiting to decide whether or not I screwed it up, I guess. But I did do something amazing (for me) last night.

I picked up a UFO and took the next step. I’m embarrassed to say it was the second baby tsock, which is smaller than my hand and has been waiting for about six months for me to pick up the gusset stitches. Pick them up I finally did. Five more rounds of gusset work, knit to the toe, change colors and work the teeny tiny toe and I will have a pair of socks that won’t fit anyone in the house. Thank you, thank you. I’m glad you are all so good at pretending to be impressed.

Last night I just got the overwhelming urge to have all new things to work on. So I want to try to clear out the UFO basket by the end of the month so I can concentrate on new things to make for Christmas presents. Here’s what has to get wrapped up:

* the baby tsock
* the Irish Hiking Scarf (keep repeating)
* the second Salt and Pepper sock (must cast on – Harlot sock recipe)
* the Dianne cap (design and finish crown)
* a Baby Surprise Jacket (already cast on)
* the Tyrone sweater (start raglan decreases)

Oh yeah, and learn how to spin.

Published in: on September 14, 2007 at 10:01 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/09/14/top-five-movie-quotes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh my God, now I have guilt: I left Ferris Bueller off my list. “‘I don’t believe in Beatles, I only believe in me.’ That was John Lennon. Of course, he was the walrus. I could be a walrus, but I’d still have to bum rides off people.”

    I love Grosse Pointe Blank! I didn’t expect to either, but there is, as you say, John Cusack. And it’s really, wonderfully, darkly funny. “I’m a hit man.” “Ah, it’s a growth industry.” Ha!

    Lord, I’m on the verge of doing another Top Five right in your comments. Reigning myself in now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I mean “reining!” Hee.

  3. Meme or not, this is dangerous.

    “Ours goes to ‘leven.”

    And speaking of quotable cult films, as you are with “The Blues Brothers,” so this little Urban Achiever (in the parlance of our time) could go on for 117 minutes of her own with “Don’t be fatuous, Jeffrey” and “Yeah, it really tied the room together” and just about every other line from “The Big Lebowski.

    Way to pick up them gusset tstitches – you go, girl!

  4. You can do it! You can do it!

    Just put that sock in your purse and take it everywhere ๐Ÿ™‚ And ditch the DPN’s… muhahah – kidding ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll convert you to the loop someday.

    And thanks for the reminder of the backyardigans. I must not forget. Must not forget… I hope I don’t! And Austin better be in it, or my Austin is gonna be sad and cry.

  5. My sister went through a “Princess Bride” phase, so I probably have more quotes from that movie stuck in my head than any other. Sad but true. We don’t watch many movies around here; not enough hours in the day….

  6. Gotta add, gauntlet thrown….

    From TB:
    “That’s when the wh0res come in. – ‘I like her idea.'”

    “Melted chocolate in the dashboard, that’ll up the resale value.”

    “Mmhmm, he seems like a nice guy.”

    “Uh-uh. Nobody can help baby Huey here out on the road.”

    “Hi. I’m Earth. Have we met? ‘Uh, I don’t think so.'”

    “John Hancock, shuh. It’s Herbie.”

    “Alot of people go to college for seven years. ‘Yeah, there called doctors.'”

    From GPB:
    “You can’t go home again, Oatman. But apparently you can shop there.”

    “I’m not a sociopath, a sociopath kills for no reason. I kill for money.”

    “Martinn, where are youu? ‘Budapest.’ Oh, yeah, I see you on the bridge of the Danube there kid.”

    From FB:
    “Cameron is so tight, if you put a lump of coal up his a$$, you’d have a diamond in two weeks.”

    “You guys speak English? ‘Uh, what country do you think this is?'”

    “One: You can never go too far. And two: If I’m gonna get busted, it’s not gonna be by a guy like that.”

    [cacophpony on a clarinet] “Never had one lesson.”

    “Now he’s got Sloane Peterson mixed up on this. ‘And her grandmother.'”

    “He’ll keep calling, and he’ll keep calling…”

    “You shouldn’t be throwing anyone Ed, what with your bad knee.”

    From BB:
    “Fix the cigarette lighter.”

    “Got my cheez whiz, boy?”

    “The light was yellow, sir.”

    “You want out of this parking lot?”

    “The Blues Brothers? They still owe you money, fool.”

    etc. etc. “OW, you fat penguin!” SMACK!

    “I don’t want to listen to no jive-a$$ preacher .. ‘Jake, you get wise. you get to church!'”

    “Uh, you want I should clean the bugs off your windshield?”

    etc. etc. locusts etc. etc. flat tire etc. etc. “It wasn’t my fault I swear to GOD!”

    From ST:
    “As long as there was sex and drugs, I think I could do without the rock ‘n roll.”

    “You know the commercial with the dog chasing the little chuckwagon? That was mine.”

    “D is really the saddest of all keys.”

    Visual: Just the guy at the free-form jazz exploration with chin in hand holding out a thumbs down.

    “I’m looking for pound notes/loose change/bad checks/anything; give me some money.”

    “If I could raise a logistical question at this point? Are we going to do Stonehenge tomorrow night?”

    “The review for your Shark Sandwich was simply two words: Sh!t sandwich. ‘You can’t print that! Who printed that!'”

    “Don’t even point. Stop looking at it. Let’s go.”

    Visual: Derek locked in the pod playing bass, roadies trying hammer, blowtorches, etc. to get him out…

    Happy knitting.

  7. […] September 21st, 2007 in Dyeing, knitting, movies, socks, yarn I saw this over at Chocolate Sheep — what fun! The top five quotes around here […]


Leave a Reply

