Almost alpaca

Yesterday I thought it would be a good idea to wind up the alpaca yarn scraps I bought at the fest, and cast on for a hat or something.

Yeah, right.

I was trying to move from skein to ball winder while I was also trying to call to set up a doctor’s appointment for Tom, waiting for a callback, getting a call from my husband, and fend off the Wonder Twins, who had decided that whever I was doing was ever so much more interesting than staying in the TV room and watching, well, TV. They also rather casually announced that the gate was down, something that I confirmed later when Tom crawled into the dining room, too.

The result was a tiny ball on the ball winder, snapped from the rest of the skein, a hand-wound ball on the other end of the skein, and a tremendous snarl in the middle. By the end of last night (MST3K: Hercules Against the Moon Men) I had it down to a rather smaller snarl. By the time JC woke up from a nightmare and hung out with me, it was a presumably single snarl.

With the wisdom of the young, he suggested that I set it aside until later. This may have been so I would find him a wool blanket more quickly; I’m not sure. But that’s what I did.

Tell me again why I think “cast on” when I look at a skein? There are so many steps in between, all of them potentially fatal.

No spinning to report, but I think an alpaca leader might be a good idea.

Knitwise, I resumed work on more tiny giftknits. Two more to go and I’ll take a picture and explain. No progress on Tyrone, either, but maybe tonight I will figure out how to get the sleeves evened up and attached to the sweater body.

P.S. I added a new page to the site: an editorial from the August 2005 issue of my now-obsolete e-mail newsletter. This predates my ability to knit. Enjoy the time traveling, and feel free to leave a comment on it.

Published in: on September 12, 2007 at 7:42 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/09/12/almost-alpaca/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Yikes! Not much else to say, is there?


Leave a Reply

