Maggie May

Maggie May

Meet Maggie. I just brought Maggie home this afternoon and haven’t even put foot to treadle yet.

Isn’t she beautiful? She is an Ashford Traditional, and we’re still doing a bit of research to figure out exactly how old she is. Younger than I am, that much is certain. Kate came with her, and they’re quite a striking pair.

I don’t yet know how to spin, even on a spindle, so this acquisition is kind of hard to explain. I suppose if you’ve known me for a lonnnnnng time, it might look sort of inevitable.

For example, on my last visit to my grandmother, she said, “You like old stuff, don’t you?” and handed me my great-grandfather’s Mining Supervisory certificate, still in the original thick cardboard mailing tube sent to him in September 1929. They had to use a hifalutin’ FOUR cent stamp, can you believe it? Old stuff. Yup. Been in that tube for almost 80 years and now it’s mine.

When you consider the handknitting and the handquilting and the genealogy, a spinning wheel is pretty much in context. (Did I mention my all-too-brief volunteer work at a working 1880s farm, in costume and all?) Both sides of my family are riddled with cabinetmakers, woodworkers, and folks who made things themselves. The Macintosh excepted, my technological sensibilities lie most likely between Luddite and Mennonite. And if I’m going to raise sheep and alpacas for their fleeces, I’d better learn how to spin it up.

So. See you at the Wisconsin Sheep & Wool Festival in a couple of weeks. I’ll be coming in from just 20 minutes away from my rented country farmhouse, and I’ll be looking for fiber.

Published in: on August 22, 2007 at 7:12 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/08/22/maggie-may/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OMG you are Freaking. Me. Out. YOu sound just like me when I bought Victoria. Maggie May IS beautiful, and never fear, just like you, I don’t know how to spin either….but I can tell that deep down we’re both spinners. KWIM? She’s truly beautiful, and I can’t wait to hear how you two get along. Victoria is currently stashed behind my sofa because the BSJ is on my radar screen. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not knitting the BSJ…just staring at 160 cast-on stitches guilty whilst I knit on a sock!!! Go forth and spin. Can’t wait to see what turns up!

  2. Wow, Maggie May is beautiful! I take it Kate is the little bobbin-holding accessory on the side? She’s a cutie too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oooo! What a beautiful wheel! I’m so jealous! I am going to the Festival in Jefferson too! Maybe we’ll hook up this time around!

  4. She’s gorgeous and hello again after my hiatus.

  5. She is just lovely. Your fate is sealed. Me, I’d be terrified of acquiring a wheel because I know what would happen next….

  6. Well, did you spin on her yet? Where’s the little skein? You need to keep that first skein. Don’t throw it away. Don’t be frustrated with it. Love it.
    And by the way, where is it?


Leave a Reply

