Aprés-fest

Pardon me as we dry out from Irish Fest. Friday night was perfect (although tempered somewhat by the fact that there was no wool, yarn, or knitting except for mine — I’m working on it), but Saturday it slowly started to rain and never really let up all evening. Sunday it was raining hard all day and we opted not to take the kids there, especially since most of them had already developed a cough.

I managed to miss both Molly Bee and the freckle contest at the same time, which made Saturday pretty frustrating. But JC recovered from his disappointment — eventually — and I’ll cross paths with Molly again, hopefully soon.

The big deal on Saturday, though, was the curragh regatta hosted by the Milwaukee club. After a slow start under cool and drizzling conditions, they won some races. They won the last official race, the one-woman race, which forced a three-way tie between the leading teams. Then they proceeded to win the row-off by picking another one-woman race. Milwaukee’s team used the same rower twice in a row, while the other teams picked fresh rowers. Kristin prevailed — she is an awesome tough woman — and basically won the regatta for us.

This video is from the Pittsburgh regatta but it’s still excellent.

Mr. Beth is still recovering from the beating he took in the boat during his two races. Skin is missing from all over his hands, and the rest of his body is covered with bruises. I can’t think of anything I can knit that would help with this, but I’m trying. (Mr. Beth gently suggests that I finish the Irish Hiking Scarf.)

We also visited our new [rental] house on Friday and saw one of the local Catholic schools and totally fell in love with it. It may turn out to not be the most convenient for us to use, but since that convenience depends on other factors, we’ll have to wait and see. I have a feeling we may not know which school we’re using until the first day of school.

Knitwise I cast on again for the BSJ but will have to check around to see where to put the stitch markers before I actually start knitting. There’s only so many times you want to cast on 160 stitches.

I did three or four repeats on the Irish Hiking Scarf during the driving and the sitting around in the curragh tent. I also knitted on Tyrone and I’m almost halfway done with the second blue stripe. Since I’m working from the bottom up, I’ll just knit the same amount of rows in each color change when I work on each sleeve. When I get to the joining row it ought to all link up. The Cascade knits up great, too. I hope it comes in Packer green and gold, because I’d like to use it for the bucket hat I’ve been asked to make.

We’re moving this weekend, so it’s time to start packing things up. AND…I will have a surprise for you on Wednesday. Picture included!

P.S. Complain to the right people and you get attention: look here. By the way, are there any other “My Boys” fans out there? I like this show for its good writing and good ensemble. I don’t think it’s a “girl” show any more than it’s a “sports” show even if it’s narrated by a female sportswriter. In fact, we started watching because Jim Gaffigan was in it. To me it feels like “Scrubs” about relationships.

Published in: on August 20, 2007 at 7:13 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/08/20/apres-fest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I actually entertained the notion of trying to seek you out at Irish Fest, but the weather scared me away. I live in Milwaukee and have been enjoying your blog this summer. Maybe next year.

    My husband and I love “My Boys”. SO funny, and like you said, not a girl show or a sports show.

  2. Glad you had a good time, even if it rained. This rainy weather is sure being a real bugger.

    Yeah on Tyrone! I can’t wait to see it.

    And um, I know I said I’d give you boxes, but none of mine are empty 😦 (A long story which you will surely hear all about on Wednesday)

  3. Welcome back and happy packing!

  4. I figured out placement of the stitch markers on the BSJ shortly after I started the first one. It IS a bit tricky, because the obvious placement is right in the middle of the sl 1, k2tog, psso. I think I put my marker on the far side of that decrease and just kept in mind to start the series of steps three stitches before the marker (or something along that line). It will mean that your number of stitches per section is off from the pattern (because of having the markers offset), but it all worked out for me. It will for you, too. “Just believe.” 🙂


Leave a Reply

