One blankie, coming right up

I have to say this about the finishing process for a big knitted piece… it’s scary. I took pictures every step of the way to document that I was brave enough to wash the blankie, rinse it several times, then (gasp!) put it in the washing machine for a spin cycle to whip out the extra water before pinning it down to my blocking surface. I think that having put Colleen’s Quilt through a whole wash and dry cycle at the laundromat a few days before my guild’s quilt show helped me to drop the blanket in.

On the other hand, there’s my Secret Knitting Fear that somehow, I’m so not doing it right, that all it takes is one loose end and my handmade hats and scarves will unravel like the strip at the top of the dog food bag. And nobody’s telling me that this happens because they don’t want me to feel bad. They so want to protect my tender, fragile feelings that they’re even willing to but me more yarn and needles to keep myself happy with.

I know this is ridiculous. I have made two sweaters for Colleen and this has not happened. I have made hats and scarves for myself and this has not happened. I have made a sock and put it on my foot and nothing unraveled, split, exploded, or burst into flames.

Nevertheless. I’m glad the blanket is going to a baby I may never see. That not only spares me the embarrassment of a potentially self-frogging item, but enables the new parents to take a look at my 35,632 stitches and say, “Perfect for the dog to sleep on, don’t you think so, honey?”

No pressure.

But it did stretch out gracefully, allow itself to be pinned, and morph into exactly the shape I wanted it to be all along. And now it is so soft. Only I know where the errors are, and Brer Knitter, he lay low. I ain’t sayin’ nothin’.

Now…to dive into the BSJ pond with Knitting Mother, with Michelle at Boulderneigh in the lifeguard’s seat to make sure we don’t drown. Today: a gauge swatch. Because it’s EZ, and I do what EZ says until it makes sense. The woman says: SWATCH.

P.S. On the house, the woman who wanted to take a second look at the house — changed her mind. Open House next weekend, tell your friends.

P.P.S. We have found a place to rent, an old farmhouse near Jefferson with lots of space and a big yard. The owners live across the road in their new farmhouse. Mr. Beth wants to move in before the end of the month.

Published in: on August 10, 2007 at 11:15 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/08/10/one-blankie-coming-right-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am so glad to know I’m not the only one who obsesses about the possible demise of hand knitted gifts I give. 😉

  2. I have exactly that fear! The knowledge that this thing I knit is just one long, elaborately knotted piece of string is very daunting, when the time comes to toss that piece of string into the washer. 🙂

    But I’ll bet that blankie is beautiful, and I can’t wait to see a picture.

    The old farmhouse sounds fantastic! I love a big yard.


Leave a Reply

