Happy happy bind-off dance

I got it done! Well, sort of. Last night I finished the baby blanket and wove in the ends while watching Top Chef (can’t we ever send Toxic Howie home?) and the last two episodes of Season One of Remington Steele.

Woot! I just love binding off. I love the neat line it gives to the end of the project. I wish my cast-on line looked the same. As soon as I was done with the blankie I was thinking, what if I had done a provisional cast-on, then taken it out, picked up the stitches, and done a bind-off on the cast-on edge too?

Today’s the day to buy some exercise-mat squares to make an inexpensive blocking surface, give the blankie a gentle bath, and block it out. Right now it’s about 34 by 27 inches. We’ll see what happens when I gently stretch it flat.

Today’s also the day to try to optimize some blog pix so I can post a picture of the thing before I have to wrap it up and give it away. I am so sick of having no pictures on this blog. I keep taking them, but there’s nowhere for them to go.

I wanted to wind wool for two BSJ’s, but got flummoxed reading EZ’s “pattern.” It’s another one of those trust things, I guess. Although, lots of people have already knit this project and lived to tell the tale. I hope it goes better for me than the Moccasin Sock, though I finally looked carefully at the photographs and understood what the heel was really supposed to look like.

Yesterday I also e-mailed to officially join the IHS KAL, and e-mailed to have Backyardiknits listed on the KAL directory. No replies yet, so we’ll see what happens.

Have an FO kind of day β€” can’t keep this glee to myself!

Published in: on August 9, 2007 at 8:04 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/08/09/happy-happy-bind-off-dance/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OMG you have GOT to e-mail me. I’m working on my first BSJ now, and like you said, if half the free world has knit this little surprise, surely I(we) can too. I’m stuck at the part where she says decrease 22 decr. (90 sts.). I just can’t figure out what the heck that means…and shouldn’t the meaning be obvious????? Maybe together we can figure it out. E-mail ME!

  2. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this earlier… can you sign up for a flikr or photobucket account and then upload the pictures there and then add them to the blog that way? (by inserting the source code for pictures?) Not sure how that works with WordPress…

    Backyardiknits…. wasn’t I supposed to be starting on something for that….? ha!

  3. I haven’t knit a BSJ either, but from reading all the posts from people who have, I gather it’s a trust-the-pattern kind of thing. Some people end up loving it, and some end up hating it…I suppose I ought to give it a try one of these days! Seriously, one of my friends has to have a baby, with all the cute baby-knits out there. πŸ™‚

    Hoping to FO my first Monkey sock tonight! (Boy, does that sound weird. But I’m leavin’ it!)

  4. I thought I was the only one who knit to top chef, what a fun show πŸ™‚ Isn’t binding off one of the most fun parts of knitting?


Leave a Reply

