Got curragh?

We’re in the pre-planning stages for our now-annual trip to Irish Fest in Milwaukee, and I just wanted to invite, well, anyone who could possibly come.

Mr. Beth is scheduled to row in two curragh races — he is a member of the Irish Curragh Club of Milwaukee. When he’s not racing he might be in the club booth during the weekend, and so might I. Working on my/the/his Irish Hiking Scarf.

The club booth is part of the Cultural Village, and there’s one tent in there which usually has handknitted Aran sweaters and/or handspun yarn for sale. I think they could do a lot more with the knitting… but that’s not my area, at least not this year. For now I will show up and make cables when I can, and I think it would be really cool if other IHS knitters just drifted into the area, just sat down, and just kept knitting.

Did I mention there will be beer for sale at this festival? Not Guinness (oddly enough), but other fine beers. Just sayin’. And of course there are a bazillion other things to do. (And if you need to know how to get in for free on Sunday, just drop me a line.)

So if you can come, or know another knitter who can, please bring your wool and Represent! I’d love to knit with you.

Published in: on August 2, 2007 at 3:30 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/08/02/got-curragh/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would love to go to an Irish Fest, sound like great fun! Too bad I will not be in the area. (why is the world so big? If it were a bit smaller, maybe I could go to more fun things near you!)

  2. I LOVE Irish Fest. We usually go to see our friends Chuck and Steve Romanoff in Schooner Fare, but they aren’t scheduled this year. Did you see Tommy Makem died?

  3. I’d join you if I could. I even have an IHS on the needles right now. I love Irish Fest’s. We have 2 going in this weekend, here in Ohio. One in Dublin, and one in Dayton. And, of all things, I’m going north to the Great Lakes Medieval Faire.

    Have fun, and cable a couple for me.


Leave a Reply

