Got the book, now leave me alone

Last night at 11:30 I headed out for the bookstore where I had reserved my copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I found myself part of the world’s ruliest mob. More than 300 copies had been reserved, yet everyone stood calmly in line and chatted.

There weren’t people dressed like wizards, or end-of-book spoilers, or line jumpers. A few people had on HP related T-shirts. (Nothing as cool as my Hufflepuff socks, though, thank you Jules!) I knitted on a baby blanket while I stood in line and listened to college students and high school students chatting around me. There were a few parents who had been pressed into service to drive their carless children to the line, but on the whole many fewer grownup fans.

At one point in the line it struck me that this was one of the few times (I can’t think of another, right now) that I was doing the popular thing at the same time as everyone else. I usually read the book in paperback, watch the movie in the cheap theater (these days, get it on DVD), or buy the third fifth iteration after all the bugs have been worked out (right, SG?). Whoopee for me, I was finally doing the “in” thing.

Then I looked around and realized I was hanging out with 16-to-21-year-olds to pay almost $30 for a discounted first edition hardcover. Took a little bloom off the rose, but it was kind of chilly there, at midnight in mid-July in Wisconsin. (Who knew?) That bloom was going to fade anyway.

So I got the book, took it home to Mr. Beth and handed it over. Then proceeded to botch up the baby blanket on the last row I had decided to knit before turning in (at 2am!). I think all I did was drop a stitch on the World’s Most Mindless Knitting, but it was hard to tell for a while because everything I did to try to fix it was screwing something up. I had my eyes closed at the time I made the error (falling asleep, don’t you know) so it was hard to know how to undo it.

So. Today, I’m learning a New and Valuable Skill with my crochet hook. !@@#$!!!! Then I have two massive and probably confusing tomes to read. All Mr. Beth would say about the new book (no spoilers here) is, “She sure isn’t wasting time with this one.” There was another muttered comment of his that I laughed at: “Well, if that’s true, then how did she make the rest of the book so long?” I enhanced his reading pleasure by tossing out gems like “After Lily rose from the dead” and “Lily and James really were killed in a car crash and this is all a madman’s dream.”

My apologies if any of this nonsense turns out to have any bearing at all on this marvelous series. Now, I need to pick up a stitch, add the next skein, and start reading Half-Blood Prince again. Judging from Mr. Beth’s I-don’t-need-to-do-no-stinkin-rereading experience, I will be glad I did.

See you all in a couple of days!

Published in: on July 21, 2007 at 8:07 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/07/21/got-the-book-now-leave-me-alone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You’re welcome! 🙂 I just got my copy at 10:00 this morning, and must agree with Mr. Beth: she isn’t wasting her time here!

    That is all you’ll get out of me. See you later!

  2. Damn, it’s 6:24 and I am still waiting. They say it will be here by seven. I’m about ready to sue. Crikey, where is my book???!!!

  3. You know, I really need to get my hands on the first book an start reading these books. I’ve always wanted to, but the kids were too young to not pay attention to them until I finished the book….cuz that’s how I roll when I got a book in my hands.

    Good luck with fixing the blanket!


Leave a Reply

