Treasure hunt!

With apologies to Ferris Bueller, blogging goes by pretty fast. If you blink, you might miss it. So here is some cool stuff I found over the last few days, while trying to catch up on my own sector of the knitblogosphere.

Did you wonder where the Harlot’s candy-colored handspun would up after she donated it to Claudia for a prize as she collected pledges for her MS ride? (breath) I found it here. It’s still beautiful and it’s great to know it’s in a happy home.

Do you like toe-up socks but hate short-row toes? Here is the amazing solution to the problem β€” bottom-up socks with top-down toes. As the Harlot might say, this is dead clever.

Still don’t know what you want to be when you grow up? And your kids laugh and say, Mom, you’re already grown up? Go here. Mother Chaos has expressed this so well I will never have to write about it again, I’ll just hand people a card with the hotlink written on it. (Or maybe have T-shirts made. That would be good for Harlot Tour meetups…)

Did you ever want a Personal Yarn Shopper? I just stumbled across this blog and feel like sending this chick $10 and saying, do your best for me at the next auction. Un. Be. Freakin. Lievable.

(edit) I just found this and there was no way I was not going to include it. Someone knit up an iPhone β€” Awesome!

If you have found some other cool stuff that I missed, let me know! One link only, though, so you won’t end up in the spam bucket with the guy from Amsterdam with all the drugs.

And here’s a quick note to all those jerks obsessed with ruining all the suspense that J. K. Rowling has spent that past ten years building up? Shut up. Shut up. Shut up. I don’t want you to shove the ending in my face, I want to READ MY BOOK. A note to others who feel as I do: don’t look for any news related to Harry Potter at all. I hear that people are typing in comments to news stories, with spoilers (real or fake) in all caps just to get their jollies. If in doubt, log off and knit until your book comes in. Then give us all time to read the book. I am re-reading the series and will be on Half-Blood Prince this weekend until Mr. Beth, who isn’t re-reading, finishes Deathly Hallows. We’ll all meet on the other side and have a good cry. Then, judging from reports from the Order of the Phoenix movie, there will be plenty of new things to knit.

Including House socks. For swaps. πŸ˜‰

Published in: on July 19, 2007 at 10:11 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/07/19/treasure-hunt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. God(dess)bless you for that HP info. I am so with you on this. I’m attending an “event” a pal of mine (who owns a book store) is throwing. I’m going to dress up and everything. I don’t know who JK is going to kill off and I’m not going to blog my feelings about it for a few weeks after the release. I have to say though, that I’m almost SICK with anticipation. I love the links. Come on over to Ewehoo! sometime and see what kind of foolishness I’ve been up to.

  2. Yes, “sick with anticipation” just about covers it! My son and I are going to see Order of the Phoenix on Sunday, if I can drag myself away from Deathly Hallows for that long. πŸ™‚

    So did you join up for Round Two of the Swap?

  3. Bunch of cool links there, thanks – especially for where Stephanie’s handspun got to! I’m not a huge HP fan, but all those jerks out there just– Well, suck. Definitely nasty muggles.

    And it sounds like you are, indeed, going in for 2nd Year… [g]

  4. I’m sorry, I still don’t quite get it. I can understand why some people object to short-row HEELS (though even there I suspect it’s just because they don’t know how to size and fit them properly; popular belief notwithstanding, if you engineer ’em right they aren’t necessarily shallower than any other kind). But short-row TOES???? Most of the people I’ve heard object to short-row toes base their distaste on the provisional cast-on. At least with a short-row you only do a provisional CO for half the stitches, whereas with this method you have twice as many, not to mention an unusually awkward dismount and all the aesthetic problems attending a cuff-down toe.

    Just. Don’t. Get. It.


Leave a Reply

