Mockingbird 4

I seriously owe everyone an update on Big Tom.

Who — believe it or not — has gained about a pound and a half since his admission! On Wednesday they put him in a sleeper sized 6/9 months. Now he is in 12-month clothing and feeling much heftier to pick up. And no wonder — when I fed him dinner tonight he ate and drank and combination of 11 ounces of food and high-cal formula. He’s eating 120 percent of his recommended caloric intake, which is what he needs to do to catch up with the other boys.

The “samples” got collected and sent off to the lab at the appropriate time, and I hope we’ll get the results back tomorrow. I’m going to get there as early as I can, maybe even get to see Tom’s pediatrician and find out when he might be discharged (Tom, not the pediatrician). The sooner the better as far as I’m concerned. The disruption in the routine is wearing on everyone.

I do seem to be getting lots of knitting done lately, when I’m not re-reading Harry Potter (I’m about one-third through Order of the Phoenix). I was going great guns on the hat until this afternoon, when I realized I had skipped or repeated a row somewhere. It’s definitely wrong and I think I will have to tink about a round and a half, maybe more, before I can figure out the error and continue on correctly in the pattern. Which I made up.

Looks like I have a little room for pictures, so here’s one of Tom the day he was admitted to the hospital:

Big Tom, 6/27/07

Yes, his eyes really are that blue. You should see him in the blue sleeper! I’ll take another picture of him just before he comes home, so you can see how much bigger he is now. 🙂

I also want to thank everyone who sent good wishes, cards, or even more on my birthday. Knitters are so nice and you really made the day special. Some of you went especially above and beyond, and you know who you are. You really didn’t have to… but you did anyway. Thanks.

Here’s some cake! A DQ Blizzard cake in Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. Please, have a piece!

Ice Cream Cake

Spam Quote of the Day

hello, your site is lucky.

I hope he’s lucky in Vegas and will send me a cut.

Published in: on July 1, 2007 at 8:56 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/07/01/mockingbird-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so happy your little one is improving.

  2. Looking forward to seeing a bigger “After” picture.

    Yes, those are some seriously blue eyes. Between him and Aaron (darker shade, similarly saturated) I’m surprised the planet’s supply of blue pigment isn’t running low….

  3. Go Tommy! Go Tommy!

    Oh, and thanks for the cake 🙂

  4. Man, look at those eyes! ::falls in love:: So glad to hear he’s making progress, Beth. Keep it up, Tom!

    Mmmm…yes, thanks for the cake. Perfect timing, we’re starting to heat up again out here. 😉

  5. Yay, Tom! A POUND AND A HALF! Woo-hoo! And a chick magnet, to boot!
    The cake is delicious! : b
    Thanks for sharing…

  6. What a charmer! Glad to read that he’s doing better.


Leave a Reply

