Mockingbird

I love that this is the song Tommy likes to hear before he falls asleep.

Hush little baby, don’t say a word
Mama’s going to buy you a mockingbird
If that mockingbird won’t sing
Mama’s going to buy you a diamond ring
If that diamond ring turns brass
Mama’s going to buy you a looking glass
If that looking glass gets broke
Mama’s going to buy you a billy goat
If that billy goat won’t pull
Mama’s going to buy you a cart and bull
If that cart and bull turn over
Mama’s going to buy you a dog named Rover
If that dog named Rover won’t bark
Mama’s going to buy you a horse and cart
If that horse and cart fall down
You’ll still be the sweetest little baby in town.

Bad doctor appointment today. Tommy actually lost weight since last week and has been admitted to the hospital. No IVs, but lots of high-calorie formula to drink, diapers to weigh. That sort of thing. Daddy’s coming home and I will be staying with him in the hospital until whenever. So I won’t post until Tom comes home or I have real news. Please keep him, me, us, whoever in your prayers.

And yes, I’m taking my knitting with me. I’ve got to have something to keep me sane while he sleeps.

Published in: on June 27, 2007 at 12:43 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/06/27/mockingbird/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, I feel for you and Tommy! I hope all goes well and he is home quickly. And that is a wonderful song to sing to him, a bit of home in a strange place.

    Astrid

  2. I’ll be keeping your little guy in my thoughts!

    (((hugs))) to your whole family –

  3. The Entire Dillon Family, including all animals inside and out, feathered, wooled, and haired, are all wishing Tom a short and successful hospital stay. We Love You, Tom; Get Well Soon.

  4. Oh, I’m very sorry to hear about Tommy. I hope the stay will be short and you are all in my thoughts and prayers!

  5. I’d cross my fingers for you and him, only you know how that wreaks havoc with the knitting. So will instead be thinking of you and him as I knit, sending high-quality-calorie thoughts your way. I never thought of Kitri as a prayer shawl, but why not? I also need to do some work on the ice cream sock, which I should think oughta send the right kind of vibes if anything can. Prayer sock? Again, why not….

  6. Oh, Beth, that’s so hard! At least you can be there with him and I’m sure he’ll be well taken care of. Today or tomorrow, there ought to be something in your mailbox to brighten your day a bit, I hope.
    Welcome to 40, eh? (NOT!)
    We are all thinking warm fuzzy weight-gain good news thoughts for the little guy! (I almost said for you, but No! that’s not right!)
    Love ya, Cathy

  7. Thinking of you and little Tommy. I have an eight year old who still battles with keeping weight on, and I know only too well the sinking feeling when he gets on the scales in the doctor’s office. But he his happy, energetic, incredibly smart and blessed with the most charming big blue eyes. Your little man will get through and while you’re waiting there is always knitting to be done. Melissa

  8. Beth,sorry to hear you little is ill. Our prayers and well wishes are with you and Tommy. If you need anything. I’ ll check back here on thursday.
    Kristy from Wi.

  9. I too hope everything turns out well. I’ll keep you and your loved ones in my thoughts.

  10. Oh, Beth. Sending lots and lots of hugs and praying hard!

  11. I’m so sorry, and I will be praying for God’s healing touch in your little Tommy’s body, as well as peace of mind for you as you trust in Him to do so.

  12. Sorry about little Tommy. I’ll keep you all in my prayers. HUGS!

  13. Thinking of you and Mr. T. Email me if you want ideas in complimentary medicine. Take care and as EZ says, Knit on with confidence and hope, through all crises.

  14. Beth- I am so sorry to hear Tommy is not gaining the weight he needs to. My thoughts are with you both. Please let us know if there is anything we of the blogger family can do.

  15. I am so glad to hear (in your subsequent post) that Tommy is enjoying his hospital stay. That makes it so much easier for you than if he was miserable! I’m adding my prayers that the doctors can figure out quickly what is wrong and what will remedy the problem. (Celiac’s disease?)

    Thank-you for the words for the mockingbird song; I haven’t been able to remember them all in years! My little boy’s “song,” the one I sang to him the most (although there were several), was “You Are My Sunshine.” Now that he’s 5 1/2, he isn’t still long enough to sing to very often….

  16. And by the way, that little “only” boy of mine was born shortly after I turned 40; talk about coming late to parenting!


Leave a Reply

