Ten needles liberated!

While I was working my new Knitting Completion Plan last night, I freed up the following needles. No, I didn’t produce any new FOs, but these needles were inside the project bags, just waiting to see if their services would be required.

* Crystal Palace 3.25mm bamboo dpns, set of five
* Clover/Takumi 3.75mm bamboo dpns, set of five

Back to the Needle Storage Facility with thee! (For those of you in the Navy, I believe this would translate to NedStorFac, or perhaps KnitOrdStorFac. Get used to it, Lauren.)

So, here’s my Knitting Completion Plan. Keep in mind that I continually work to subvert my own best intentions, and that if I have publicly declared a plan to be in progress, I will feel compelled to alter it immediately to make it less effective. But this is the plan that I am sure would work if I kept following it.

Step One. Work one repeat of the Irish Hiking Scarf. Any more than that, and I will get confused about what row I’m on. Fractions of a full eight-row repeat will not even be considered.

Step Two. Work one step of the baby Tsock. Last night I finished the heel flap. Tonight I get to turn the heel, which will take just a few minutes and give me that wonderful “queen of the world” “First Knitter” kind of feeling.

Step Three. Knit on the Harlot one-row scarf until midnight or I fall asleep. Last night it was midnight.

Supplemental Step. Keep the salt & pepper socks in the purse/knitbag at all times, so I have something to knit on in spare moments during the day. I was also carrying around the Harlot one-row, but it’s on super pointy 14 inch German wooden single points now, and kind of dangerous.

I have a lot of trouble following simple plans like this, so feel free to hound me about it. By the way, the next phase of the plan is to substitute the purse for the baby Tsock when it’s done. And I am thinking about frogging the EZ Thockies. I was reading her pattern for them in Knitter’s Almanac, and from what I can guess, she knitted them flat and seamed them up. Surely there must be a way to figure out how to finish them conventionally — they are just 44 stitches of worsted weight being knit in the round. But at this point I’m inclined to send them to the frog pond just so I can restart with a clearer pattern. I hate to think I’m not ready for EZ yet, because I love her so. But, sadly, it may be the truth.

Iris in bloom

Look! A flower!

Spam Quote of the Day

SEATTLE (May 31) – A 27-year-old man described as one of the world’s most prolific spammers was arrested Wednesday, and federal authorities said computer users across the Web could notice a decrease in the amount of junk e-mail.

Robert Alan Soloway is accused of using networks of compromised “zombie” computers to send out millions upon millions of spam e-mails.

“He’s one of the top 10 spammers in the world,” said Tim Cranton, a Microsoft Corp. lawyer who is senior director of the company’s Worldwide Internet Safety Programs. “He’s a huge problem for our customers. This is a very good day.”

If only they’d given out his IP address. Then I’d know if this is my guy. On the other hand, lately my spam content has shifted, from prescription medications to gay pr0n. So who knows.

Published in: on May 31, 2007 at 8:49 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/05/31/ten-needles-liberated/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like a good plan.

    I think the best strategy with EZ patterns may be to do them the way she says to the first time, and then do them however you want the next time. Her directions can be not-so-clear, and trying to figure out what you’re supposed to do and how to change it is, perhaps, a bit crazy-making.

  2. Excellent idea on the Irish Hiking Scarf. If I dare stop in the middle of a cable repeat, I usually get hopelessly lost. Even with obssessively marking off rows. Something always happens to throw me, and despite experience, I can never trust myself when finding the cross row and counting the following rows. My brain just throws up its hands and says, “Whoops! Well, there ya go. Have fun!” (Stoopid brain.)

    Love the spammer arrest bit – hurray! And gay pr0n? LOL, you’ve gotta wonder how that happened!

  3. Beth D.: the Harriet Tubman of the Knitting Needle World. Seeing I am grumpy and all, I have not liberated one damn needle. In other words, I drank too damn much last night to be a productive knitter and ended up scouring Barb Walker’s books for stitch patterns. Today, I aim to liberate two size 0 Addi Turbos; definition: I will finish David the Husband’s sock (I’m on the heel flap.)

  4. Hmmm…needle liberation…

    This may be a difficult task for me since some of my needles are liberateed but have been sold to projects yet to be started that must be started. Surely I can liberate some dpn’s though since I have two inches of a fingerless mitt thing to go until they are done. Where in the world did I put that project anyway…..?

    Yours sounds like a good plan!

  5. I, too, am joining you as part of the Needle Liberation Front. (I’d call us the Needle Liberation Army, except that “Army” implies far too much organization, and I can’t follow a plan any longer than you…*grin*) Now I just have to get one of those needle size/gauge thingys, since I have far too many DPN’s of the same color, and who knows what size…That might require a trip to the LYS. I like your plan more already!


Leave a Reply

