New project lust

I am so close to finishing the Hufflepuff beanie I can almost taste it. Well, not that it would taste very good. There are 12 stitches on the needles, so all I have to do is break the yarn, thread the needle, and weave in the ends. Then I should get the Moebius grafting done once and for all. I really want to start some new projects:

* a Harlot one-row scarf for myself, from the Patons Decor. I already have it in a project bag.

* a lace scarf for an unnamed recipient.

* my Hogwarts Sock Swap socks.

Of course, there’s still….the EZ Moccasin socks, my salt and pepper socks, the second baby sock, and an infinite number of beanies. And I must have started and abandoned something else. What could it be?

But I think it’s time to try lace. Does anyone have a suggestion for a first lace-pattern project? I found a scarf I want to do (see list, above) and it has a lace diamond pattern with a bead at every diamond tip. The silly thing is that each bead is individually sewn on after the scarf is knitted. Wouldn’t it be much easier just to incorporate them in the knitting? Ends to weave in are enough; who wants to sit and sew on 127 pearl beads? Easy Knitting, my a$$. Not much of a reward for learning to do yarn overs, I think.

I also want to come up with a site-specific knitting project. I will be able to attend the USGP with Mr. Beth (a weekend away from the kids! what will I do!) and I would like to come up with a racing themed thing to knit. A scarf with green, yellow, red, white, blue, back, and black/white sections? Socks with a checkered flag panel? A kid’s sweater with an intarsia racecar? Ferrari colored mittens? I may have to settle for making myself a racing themed knitting bag to carry my salt & pepper socks in, since the date will be here sooner than I think.

How did your weekend projects go?

Spam Quote of the Day

Hello guys. If you have troubles with “size” – visit this page for solving that problem.

Reminds me of another line from Steven Wright: Some people are afraid of heights. I’m afraid of widths. 

Published in: on May 21, 2007 at 8:31 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/05/21/303/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Branching Out, from Knitty http://knitty.com/ISSUEspring05/PATTbranchingout.html is a good First Lace Project, at least it was for me. Three words of advice — do it in a smooth yarn, run a lifeline at the end of every pattern repeat (so that you only have to rip it back to that point) and count your stitches at the end of EVERY row. You’ll be glad you did.

  2. I endorse Astrid’s suggestion (Branching Out was one of the first things that came to mind) & tips above — I didn’t do lifelines with my first lace knitting project, and after I had to frog almost the whole thing after a boo-boo, I saw the light. I also did a nice lace scarf using Vine Lace pattern (it’s in Wendy’s book as well as Barbara Walker’s ?first treasury) with garter stitch borders.

    Racing project? How about a checkered flag felted bag? Do 5 stitch wide, 6 stitch high, black and “white” panels in bulky or two strands together good felting yarn, (most white yarn doesn’t felt well, but there’s one — but the name escapes me right now — the last black and ‘white’ project I did, a skull on a black background for a certain gothic daughter of mine, I used cream Lamb’s Pride or Ecowool or something — but white would be better for a flag!). The way I’d do it, I’d knit a black base with needles a few sizes bigger than the yarn calls for (or double the size if you’re double-stranding!), say cast on 35 stitches and knit 20 rows = 10 garter ridges; then pick up stitches, alternating 5 black and 5 white, around the two short edges and the cast-on edge for a total of 90 stitches. Then knit circularly for a while, remembering it will shrink more lengthwise than widthwise, and bind off with i-cord bind off ideally in black. Then either knit a long black i-cord & thread through after felting a la the Booga Bag, or knit one or two shorter i-cords and attach before felting inside the i-cord bind off edge. That would be fun!

    Hey, I finished the second of a Magic 28 sock PAIR, and one fingerless glove this weekend, which was my goal. One more sock (to complete a second pair), one more glove (but I have a little time for that) and more Pink Fuzzy cardigan — due date in a week, but I’ll have a lot of knitting time this coming weekend!

  3. To put beads on w/out sewing, use a crochet hook and slip them over the stitch you want it to be on before you knit it. http://www.knitty.com/issuespring06/FEATseducedbybeads.html
    Go down to the part about “Hooking beads as you go”.

  4. Yup, Branching out is pretty and straightforward. There’s also a nice scarf in a similar vein from Annie Modesitt – Back Yard Leaves? something like that.

    Second the motion re placing lifeline and counting stitches and repeats. Also (assuming you’re working a one-sided lace) – I suggest running the lifeline in the purl-side row because the stitches are all whole (no YOs), and therefore easier to pick up and identify.

    And DEFINITELY, if you’re doing a beaded piece, incorporate the beads in the process. Sewing them on afterward? Pfui and ptui. Whether you use the crochet hook method mentioned above or prestring them depends on a number of factors – things like relative sizes of bead/hole/yarn and, perhaps most important of all, whether you want the bead to be centered on both legs of a stitch (this is what you’ll get with the crochet hook) or to lie directly on the yarn itself (you’ll get this if you prestring, and in this case I quite often put the bead on a purl stitch so it sticks out in the middle).

    Either way, another caution about beaded knitting: it’s addictive. Proceed at your own risk.

    And BTW, I believe *I* am still the last person around who hasn’t yet seen *any* of the “Pirates of the Caribbean” movies….

  5. Hi, Hopped over from Yarn Harlot,
    Love the lace with beads idea.
    My first charted lace was ‘Branching Out’
    I loved the chart, loved the fabric, and loved all the compliments the finished scarf received.
    Although I cursed the fluffy black yarn several times when searching for mistakes. After the first few repeats it became easier & I even managed to remember the easier rows. Counting is inevitable.
    It has an optional crochet edge … crocheted on beads across each end would be a really special finish.
    Enjoy!
    Jay, from Australia.

  6. What book are you using for the EZ moccasin socks? David the Teenager has totally worn through the other socks I have made him and I have sworn to never knit him another pair unless they are resoleable. As this is the summer of sock knitting and I try to be good mom person, I will make him more socks but I need the pattern! I need answers, answers! And wine, wine!


Leave a Reply

