Arrrrrrrr!

Last night I finally got to see Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl. Wow, that was a lot of fun! And Mr. Beth was clever enough to pick up the sequel at the video store, so I have that to look forward to tonight.

Did anyone else think a lot of The Princess Bride and The Mummy when they saw this movie? What else is in the Comedy-Adventure genre?

And I know we’re the last people in the world to watch this for the first time. Believe me, you’d be amazed at the movies I still haven’t seen.

Knitwise, I’m chugging along on the Hufflepuff beanie. Once I get past the ribbing and start changing colors, it just flies. The black yarn is tough to see, though. How do people manage to knit black stockinette on adult sweaters? They should get a special prize.

I’m still waiting for the beaders to out themselves for free passes. Spread the word, folks.

What are you knitting this weekend?

Published in: on May 19, 2007 at 10:59 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/05/19/arrrrrrrr/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your socks…hee hee! πŸ™‚

  2. Though I love the Hufflepuf beanie, I’ve resisted knitting it for the very reason that it has black yarn. My 23yo daughter has a predominantly black wardrobe. She’s not into gothic, and she’s not a withdrawn or depressed/supressed personality (quite the opposite!), but she likes wearing black (and a little grey thrown in). She’d go naked before she’d wear pink. That said, she wants me to knit her BLACK thinks. Argh!

    There’s alot of movies I haven’t seen, either. I’ll have to watch the Pirate movie again, thinking of the Princess Bride and the Mummy when I do. I’ve only seen it once (seen the others alot), and that was when it first came out at the theaters, so I can’t remember making that comparison.

  3. My husband actually asked me to make him a sweater — a milestone. (He wears the fingerless gloves I made him and that’s about it for knitted things he wants / will consent to wear.) But then I found out what he wants: a PLAIN, BLACK military Henley style sweater in FINE yarn, NO PATTERNS, NOT ‘BULKY’. I did get the yarn (eBay deal). But I think this sweater is going to be a soulsucker. How could he ask me to do something so — so — BORING! It’s reminiscent of Wendy’s Bohus; maybe it’s a candidate for the Slogalong. But it’s going to take me a long time to even cast on. My excuse is I don’t have a pattern yet. I think bright lights will be essential to knitting the Blackness.

    This weekend? Finishing up my Afghans for Afghans socks, working on fingerless gloves for Loopy Ewe’s challenge, and working on the pink fuzzy cardigan if I get the first two done (doubtful; but we’ll see!) And a school play, and a community theatre play that the Preteen’s friends are in, and last day of Sunday School which involves me leading the little ones in THREE songs at two services — I’ll be living at church tomorrow morning. No knitting then!

    I too have a movie deficit — though I did see the Pirates movies since my children are a little older and insisted on it. But any adult movie in the last 11 years? Probably not.

  4. I feel that I haven’t seen a number of movies that ‘everyone’ has seen. Some I don’t want to see. My husband and I do not like the whole movie-theater experience, (although we do go once in a blue moon) so we do the netflix thing. I only saw Curse of the Black Pearl earlier this year.

    I am still knitting the same group of things I was knitting last week. I am trying to finish some of the UFO’s that I have started recently.

  5. OOOh, that’s one of our favorite movies! πŸ™‚ Don’t know how many times I’ve seen it. DH and I put off our 11th anniversary until next weekend so we can see the third movie to celebrate!

    I’m knitting Monkey socks and trying to sew a jumper for my DD

  6. Hee – er, I mean arrrr – another here who thought of Princess Bride and the Mummy movies when seeing POTC… Also Yellowbeard and Young Frankenstein. πŸ˜‰ And you’re not the only one who has to catch up on popular movie culture; Mike and I couldn’t afford movies for a long time, and after he died, I could afford ’em even less. Now I’m slowly catching up via Netflix. My queue is up to around 465 or so, LOL. Of course, that includes TV series, too! (no cable. [g])

    Best way to knit black stockinette is after you’ve gotten to the point where you don’t have to look at stockinette. Then you knit it while reading stuff on the computer or watching TV! More complicated stitch patterns or the shaping, now– Different story.

    (And email coming, I’m just having to do it in short spurts. Still in tired mode. [g])


Leave a Reply

