Baby needs another sock

I sort of finished the baby sock yesterday. (I couldn’t wait until I was absolutely alone like all the books said I should be before I grafted for the first time….instead I just yelled at the kids told the children I could not be interrupted for a few minutes.) Here it is being modeled by “Big Tom,” who looks like he couldn’t be happier. The sock is big for him (I don’t think it’s the sock’s fault), and the darning yarn and needle are still attached, and the ends aren’t woven in yet. (They still aren’t.) But I thought you’d like to see it just the same.

Oh yeah, since it’s in Hogwarts Sock Swap colors and I don’t want to give away who I’m knitting for, I did some basic photo editing. 🙂

Baby sock 1

I did pick up the Hogwarts beanie and get the stitch markers put in place. But most of my time last night was spent planning the quilt top I’m working on. Math n stuff. Ick. Not all of the T-shirt panels I’m using are the same width, so I will need to put in some “spacer” panels among the sashing strips, to even everything out. The client is calling, thank goodness for caller ID so I can dodge her calls until the top is done. I hate that I’m acting this way. If anyone were here to provide free babysitting, laundry, and dishwashing services I’m sure I could get more sewing done.

I also wrote out checks to pay bills. Where are the rest of the stamps, and how long are they still good before the rates are raised again?

And. Dudes. It’s Yarn Harlot Day on Knitty Gritty. My tape is selected and I’m itching to press record at 1pm Central Time. I’m willing to circulate the resulting VHS, so if you would like to help send it around to knitters who can’t get the show, leave a comment and I’ll get back to you via e-mail. And for those of you who will be watching the show, should we be knitting a Harlot pattern, or maybe just a sock, at the time? Just a thought.

Published in: on April 17, 2007 at 8:39 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/04/17/baby-needs-another-sock/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great sock colors! ;-> Great model, too.

    More to the point, great sock. You go, girl!

    Oh – and I may need to take advantage of your kind offer re Stephanie’s Knitty Gritty show. I don’t have cable. Somebody has been recording the show for me intermittently, and today MIGHT be one of the days that system is working, but… it’s not a good gamble.

  2. I forgot to record today as well, and only realized it around noon. I was actually contemplating whether I could make it home on my 25 minute lunch break and back to school to start recording it. And unfortunately, I can’t share in the VHS since my house is fairly advanced, so I don’t have a tape player any more. Oh well, I’m sure I’ll get to see it sooner or later.

  3. He is very cute & obviously born to be a sock model!

  4. Hi Beth in WI, I’m in WI, too. Can I please be in the list for watching the tape??? Thanks so much for offering this…I’ve been dying to see this episode. Thanks!
    Robyn McMurry

  5. Adorable sock! And adorable baby. I’m one of the sad ones who don’t get Knitty Gritty. I’d love a tape from anyone! Please?

  6. You explained to them calmly, right? Just like I inquired gently why there was cereal all over the living room floor. Kitchener gets better.

  7. I definitely need to beg to be included on the YH tape circulation. My 6-month cable trial I got w/broadband doesn’t include the DIY channel. ::sobs:: So yes, please, ask the tape if it’d like to see the PNW on a leg of its tour. (And I’d say we knit any sock. Just not ones with entrelac, maybe. [g])

    Btw, that pic of Big Tom is adorable. Just *look* how he’s displaying that sock!

    Oh lord. A thought: Traveling video photos…

  8. Hi! I came from the Yarn Harlot’s blog…saw your note and kind offer of sharing the KG tape. I would love to be included, as I didn’t even know it was going to be on until it was over. 😦 Email me, please…and thanks!

    Lynn

  9. Hey, Beth!
    I’d love to be in on the Harlot video rounds! I don’t get DIY . . . dang! I was even home sick that afternoon but it didn’t do me any good.
    Hope you & the kidlets are enjoying the spring weather we’ve FINALLY had, eh?
    Cathy
    PS: Blog on the way! I’ll let you know when there’s something to look at!

  10. Beth, This is a little late, but I would really like a copy of the Yarn Harlot on Knitty Gritty if you are still willing (and able) to circulate it. Please email me back and let me know (and let me know how much to send you). Thank you sooooo much.

    Angie A.


Leave a Reply

