Baby steps

I am creeping along with my baby sock, but I have turned the heel and completed the gusset. I would just like to bask in the glow of this marvelous accomplishment for a few minutes before I get back to the manual and see what I need to do to head down towards the toe. I feel like First Knitter, who Steph writes about in Casts Off. This accomplishment is radically tempered by the fact that I’m reading explicit step by step instructions and am making up absolutely nothing as I go along. But still. I’m really knitting a freaking sock! (Perhaps I should have learned how to do this before I signed up for a sock swap?)

The kids have sort of been cooperating — they left the room when Knitty Gritty was on, so I worked on the sock then.

All this was only able to take place after I finished reading Circle of Quilters by Jennifer Chiaverini, which I started last night. The usual Chiaverini spell overcame me again. I can’t explain it. She’s not a florid writer, and the people she writes about aren’t sensational. Yet I turn the pages as fast as I can because I so want to see what happens to these quilters. This time, kind of like in The Cross-Country Quilters, I just wanted to shake them all by the shoulders for not seeing what terrible relationships they were in. I shut out the rest of the world and blow through each book in 24 hours. So I’m caught up with her, and with Earlene Fowler’s Benni Harper series (until next month, anyway), and with Michele Scott’s Wine Lover’s Mystery series.

Back to knitting and life. Tomorrow is Jack’s third birthday. [He seems to have been three years old for a long time, but I guess that’s normal.] He wants “blue cupcakes with blue icing.” Maybe I will surprise him and put little Blue’s Clues sugar pawprints on them. Mr. Beth is taking him for a drive tomorrow so the rest of us can decorate the living room and give him a surprise party — surprise parties seem to be the theme this year.

I picked up some much-needed chocolate this morning. At the gas station store I got the largest possible cup of Hershey’s Double Dark Cocoa cappuccino, and was drawn to a Hershey’s Special Dark display. Here’s the text: “First red wine, and now this. Yes, life is good.” In the display were two limited edition Special Dark bars: raspberry with macadamia nut, and almond. Yes, I got one of each.

Oh yes — I snuck out of the scout meeting last night to raid the bead store for the stitch markers for the swap. Here’s a benefit of having taken a class at a local store: the store was closed, but since they were having a class right then, the owner waved me in to look at what everyone was making. She also asked to see my completed wirework project (from two years ago) and sold me beads. And gave me tips on making my own jump rings. Do you think she’d like to see my Camp Fire beads? I am thinking about turning them into stitch markers.

Published in: on April 13, 2007 at 1:02 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/04/13/baby-steps/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well happy birthday to Jack! My little boy turns 3 on the 25th. I think our oldest ones are the same age too!

    Congrats on the sock heel – it’s a magical thing!

  2. Hooray for the heel! Now it looks like a sock, yes! instead of a tube.
    Anything you do with CampFire beads oughtta be fun!
    Are you inviting other 3-year-olds or just a family party? If the first, my sympathy…

  3. Ohh, that special dark with the raspberries is the best…

    I wonder if blueberries in the cupcakes would make them blue and taste good? Happy birthday Jack!


Leave a Reply

