Sweater swatch

Of course, the more I thought about it last night, I couldn’t just jump into my first real sweater pattern (apologies to the Guideposts people, you know what I mean) without pretending to be grown-up about it and making a swatch to make sure I was getting gauge.

So that’s what I’m working on right now, knitting up some more Caron Simply Soft and praying I’m getting 20 stitches to 4 inches. I’m using the Patons Upside-Downers pattern (and judging from their web site, I may have picked the only pattern they’ve ever published that didn’t need correcting) but substituting the yarn out and adding a mosaic chestband of my own design. I cast on a few too many stitches, so the swatch is awfully wide, but I’m about halfway done regardless.

That’s what I’m working on instead of putting away clothes, starting new laundry, washing dishes, and vacuuming the carpet. And if I make this a short entry and knit out there with the kids in the living room as they listen to They Might Be Giants: Here Come the ABCs (I could just kiss whoever bought that DVD for the local library), maybe I’ll have enough swatch to photograph and post later.

Still on the needles: the Moebius, the SKP, and Chemo Five.

For graphic interest, here are two quilting patterns Mr. Beth bought for me in Hawaii. As a bonus, the ladies in the quilt shop taught him about the difference between Hawaiian style quilting and traditional American patchwork. He’s coming along nicely, even if it means I need to do extremely complex hand appliqué.

Hawai’ian quilt kits

Published in: on March 6, 2007 at 9:57 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/03/06/sweater-swatch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Oooh, I can’t wait to see how your Hawaiian quilts turn out. My late mother bought me a small kit including everything needed for a pillow when she was in Hawaii. I have had it for 11 years and still don’t have the nerve to start on it *blush* I’m a much better knitter, sharp needles and I don’t get along.


Leave a Reply

