FIFO

So, here’s the driveway this morning. The “before” picture would have been pretty hard to make out, but here it is after I got it with the Toro:March 2

There’s still a bit on the end and the right side that I needed to hand-shovel to really clear it out.

And here is my lovely sidewalk: Sidewalk, 3/2/07.

So, we’re all ready for Mr. Beth to get home, and there’s a place for him to park his car.

Last night I decided to work on my World’s Scratchiest Socks, since they were the oldest project still on the needles. They are tube socks, so I don’t have to worry about a heel for my first socks. But I decided to go to the part of the pattern where you shift the 3×3 rib one stitch over. You do four rounds of this, then shift one stitch over again, et cetera. The effect is that the ribbing swirls around the sock and looks more complicated than it is. The toe shaping is just k1, k2tog around until you have 8 stitches left, so that will be easy.

So I did one set of the newly located ribbing, with only minor errors (I did learn that when you tink your ribbing you have to move the yarn forward and back, just like when you made the original stitches, duh). But what really caught my eye, for the first time, was the yardage requirement listed on the project.

170 grams.

I dug up the ball band for my yarn: 50 grams. Hmm.

Now, if I had noticed this at the outset (what, a year ago?) I could have planned to make a short cuff, maybe two inches, and gotten going on the pattern. I’d probably be done with the first sock by now. What I have now is six inches of cuff and what will probably be a two inch foot.

So, here are my choices, as it seems to me at the moment:

A. Keep going until I have one real sock, make it a learning experience to do the whole pattern.

B. Knit the sock as a mutant. Make the other one to match if I feel especially masochistic.

C. Frog this back to the cuff and actually finish it as the World’s Scratchiest Footie Tube Sock.

D. Hit the frog pond right now and start a new sock project with proper yarn and proper amounts of yarn.

E. Finish both socks this way, gift ’em to someone I don’t like, and pretend nothing’s wrong.

F. Take a match to Icelandic wool.

G. Leave the project in my basket just the way it is, and in twenty years let my daughter try to figure out what the hell I was trying to do.

Suggestions?

Published in: on March 2, 2007 at 9:20 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/03/02/fifo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My vote is for a complete frogging and ceremonial burning.

  2. I vote for G. Nothing like messing with our kid’s minds. I have 3 pairs of socks on the needles, all of which are going to be frogged due to fit issues. I need to find a “perfect” recipe for my foot!

    Enjoy the snow, we’re back to dreary rain in Oregon.

  3. I would frog the whole thing, get some softer yarn and start over. My kids are home because of this storm. They love it, I intend to knit the day away while they go out sledding. I am in NW Wi.

  4. Hi Beth, it’s another Michelle from rainy Oregon, surfing to your blog from our mutual new best friend’s blog, http://www.pretendingtofarm.com. I’d vote for A as I’m a great fan of learning experiences, but I don’t think you even have enough yardage for ONE sock! Therefore, I vote for D, because A) the learning experience might as well produce something you can either use and/or enjoy; B) life is too short for scratchy and/or ill-fitting socks; C) no point in adding to the world-wide pollution problem by torching them; and D) your daughter will have enough questions about you and what you do/did to add to the list!

    I have a tube sock pattern I thought I’d try for my first attempt; it’s in the Jacqueline Fee book The Sweater Workshop. Now that you are vastly more experienced than I, would you recommend this, or a different pattern? I can do DPs, but prefer circs, so have been wondering about the two socks at once on circs method.

  5. Just to clarify, I have two balls of the Lite-Lopi at 50g each, and the pattern calls for 170g for two socks. Sorry!

    As an aside, what could this wool possibly be suited for?

  6. I am torn between gifting them to someone you don’t like, and the torching idea as my favorite, however I suspect the burning wool would smell up the house. Knitting socks is one of my passions these days, so I say whatever choice will leave you in the best mood to take up sock knitting again is the bestest choice.

    Melanie – in upstate NY, where the storm left us with the same un-earned snowday, but hey- a day off is a day off.

  7. I know GIGO but not FIFO. But perhaps I could guess.

    Frog away; will it felt? Knit a square and check! Lopi felts except some of the light colors. If it felts, make a small bag or a felted bowl. Or finish it and it could be a Christmas sock for a pet.

    Knit your first socks with something you love, or at least really like, and nice to touch.


Leave a Reply

