Happy kids in the snow

Yesterday I let the kids play in the snow. Now, this may not seem like anything extraordinary. But the kids haven’t caught on to me yet that I almost never let them play outside.

We are on a busy intersection with some crazy drivers. I can’t see the back yard from the house (don’t get me started). A bully used to live next door (thank goodness, he’s gone). The climber in the back yard was rickety and dangerous (thank goodness, we had someone remove it while we were away).

But mostly, it’s because I doubt myself and my ability to keep watch over all of them at once. Everybody wants Mommy to play with them, and you know what happens when Mommy does that. Someone’s out the gate. Someone’s under the car. Someone’s climbing the fence. You know that horrible Mommy-film that plays in your head to show you every danger, disaster, and dismemberment that could possibly occur? All. The. Time.

So I’d rather be Evil Mommy Who Sounds Like She Has A Good Reason.

It’s raining, it’s snowing, it’s too cold, it’s too hot, it’s too windy, it’s too wet, it’s not the right kind of snow, it’s too muddy, you don’t have your mittens, it’s almost time to go to _____, you’re sick, I’m sick……

Yesterday, with mounds of the right kind of snow, snow pants and boots for everyone, there were no more excuses.

Jack and bird

Colleen in snow

JC Angel

Crap. They had a great time. I guess we’ll have to do it again.

Published in: on February 27, 2007 at 10:16 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/02/27/happy-kids-in-the-snow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My kids love to play in the snow, for about 5 minutes. But snow in Oregon doesn’t last too long. Poor kids, for the past few days we’ve accumulated 3-4 inches overnight but it melts by the time they get home from school.

    Enjoy the snow!

  2. Lots more coming your way from us here in MN. Better get more beer and chocolate!

  3. The Evil Mommy lives at our house too. My six year old plays outside very rarely – we have no back yard, and can hardly see the front yard. She is very thankful for outdoor recess at school.

    Found your blog through Yarn Harlot, and, as I am a fellow Herrschners addict, have become a regular reader.

  4. Shall we just go ahead and label it Evil Mommy Syndrome or EVS for short? Glad to know I’m not the only one “stricken.”


Leave a Reply

