NDC Syndrome, Part 2

I got to look at potential new houses over the weekend. And so I could show my friends and family what we saw, I took the digital camera with me. And did I take a single picture? No.

The first house had, on the plus side, a fireplace with inlaid green tiles. On the minus side, evil basement stairs I could not have negotiated by myself, let alone with a full laundry basket, without a concussion. Sorry, no pictures. Not even of the mystery poop that fell down when we opened the door to the attic.

The second house had twelve-inch oak baseboards, magnificent scrollwork in the doorways, a parlor closed off with a single paneled pocket door…and tiny bedrooms with hideous wallpaper, questionable light switches, and a bathroom tucked into a 4 by 9 foot room. Sorry, no pictures. Not even of the green tiles on the kitchen wall.

The third house had a million cabinets, a downstairs playroom complete with homemade bar, and incredible wood flooring under old carpets and padding. Sorry, no pictures. Not even of the built-in china cabinets.

The fourth house was woefully small and was being vacated by a couple with one kid, one new baby, and one dog. Great garage, though. Sorry, no pictures. Not even of the upstairs bedroom with twisting stairs and no door.

Never took the camera out of my coat pocket.

We did get to run around Fort Atkinson, have a wonderful lunch (Everybody’s Cafe), tour Lake Mills, and generally spend some husband & wife time together (with only Tommy as a chaperone!) before heading back to Milwaukee. Oh yeah, Mr. Beth drove me to a quilt shop in Fort so I could get info for the craft store directory. I was really impressed!

Knitwise, I took the WSS and the red and white stockinette swatch to work on. I got just a little bit done on each. I did get a picture of one of my Christmas hats in action, and I’ll upload that to the 2006 Finished Projects page.

This week’s to-do list includes working on my freelance article, paying my small business taxes, and getting ready for the Super Bowl. We wanted to make a dish from each city, but were stumped when it came to traditional Indianapolis cuisine. Judging from an article my husband sent me from the Indy Star, others are, too. Hmm, starting to sound like we should root for Indy but eat Chicago food.

Published in: on January 30, 2007 at 9:06 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/01/30/ndc-syndrome-part-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

