Dingleberries on hiatus

I am three trips around the hat away from finishing it, but I’m going to have to wait a while before launching into it. My fingertips are sore from all those k2togs with stranded fuzzy yarn. Wish they could have been p2togs with the Cozi. But I can really see the hat’s shaping now, and I’m sure I’ll find time to finish it before the end of the day. (Mom, I’ll put it in the mail tomorrow.)

Someday, I really need to learn how to knit properly. I know, everyone has their own style and all, but I learned from a kids’ book and never figured out how to hold the yarn for tension. I manage to be pretty consistent on gauge, but all the tension is controlled at my fingertips as I move the yarn into place. Not only is it slow, but there are probably much more efficient ways to move my fingers to do what I’m doing.

Unfortunately, without a babysitter for four kids, or a husband around during the week, getting out to hang out with local knitters is just impossible. I’ll just keep knitting in public until somebody’s grandmother (or granddaughter!) comes over and says, “Here, honey, try it like this.” I’m sure I’ll catch on! Just need someone to move my hands into the right places.

Temporary project: messing around with the World’s Scratchiest Socks. Since I started them, I’ve gotten some more experience with dpns (even though that technique’s not perfect either). So maybe I’ll just be battling the wool.

Next project: something with worsted weight yarn. Nothing with bobbles, fringes, or other assorted dingleberries need apply!

Published in: on January 17, 2007 at 9:09 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/01/17/dingleberries-on-hiatus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

