Dear Mom, here’s your hat

Dear Mom,

We woke up to a few inches of snow on the ground this morning, and more gently falling. Finally, snow in Wisconsin. The only other snowfalls that I remember this season were on October 11 and December 22. Brendan had left for work about 5am, and the snowthrower needs a new ignition, so I had to shovel the driveway by hand before taking JC to school. It was just powder, so it wasn’t too bad. The kids were so thrilled by the snow that JC volunteered to shovel the sidewalks after school. I’m getting wiser, so I said YES.

I was glad to have finished my mohair hat on Saturday night, because it was really handy during the snow-shoveling. I will have to wear my scarf now, too, since my hair was apparently the thing keeping my neck warm. Not any more!

I cast on for your salt & pepper hat Sunday morning and already have knitted two inches. The pattern says to knit only six inches before shaping the crown. I did this one before, but I already don’t remember how that looked. It probably doesn’t help that I just finished doing four hats in a row from a different pattern. If I bound it off now it might make an interesting headband — but I think I’ll keep going. I’m not sure that you’re the headband type. 😉

Salt & Pepper hat 1

The weather people (and my other sources) tell me you’re getting tons of rain in Ohio. I’ll try to finish the hat before the temperature drops.

Love, Beth

P.S. How ’bout that storyline in For Better or For Worse? Ha! I never liked Paul anyway.

Published in: on January 15, 2007 at 12:42 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/01/15/dear-mom-heres-your-hat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oooh, pretty hat! I hope your Mom loves it 🙂 And you guys can keep your snow, it’s been on our ground since Thursday and shows no sign of melting. Too cold for Oregon, I want my rain back!

  2. Yes, lot’s of rain here in Ohio. It will be lots of ice in the morning. Joy.


Leave a Reply

