Putting myself on probation

I was checking up over at Wendy Knits! yesterday, and preparing to download the Knit From Your Stash 2007 button, when I had a horrifying thought. I think that I have already broken the rules.

Not by craftily circumventing them, or by deliberately misreading them, but by simply forgetting what I was trying to do in the first place.

No, I don’t think I need to get an exemption for living within 2 miles of Herrschner’s, which is probably the United States’ oldest mail-order needlecraft supplier. But apparently I do need to print KNIT FROM YOUR STASH in tremendously large letters and tape it to my dashboard

I was there the other day to get that Quicksilver I was talking about, and while I was there I looked through the clearance bin for any skeins left over from the wonderful amazing warehouse sale I stumbled upon on December 31. (Apparently I had missed nothing.) Then I saw the last skein of the Chilean wool in the pink-and-purple colorway I’ve been buying up for my brother’s girlfriend. So I got that, which would be okay anyway since it’s not for me. Then I thought, I wonder if I got enough of the Red Heart variegated blue yarn to make the hooded sweatshirt for Jack? Since I don’t have a specific pattern in mind yet, I don’t know how much yarn I will need. So just to be safe, I bought one more skein.

So I added to my stash, a clear violation of the rules. But wait…there’s more. When I got home and put all the blue skeins in a project box together, guess what? The dye lots don’t match. So I probably shouldn’t use the new one for the project. But it has been added to the stash nevertheless.

Did I or didn’t I? I’m not sure. But I know I need to steer clear of Herrschners for a while!

So I won’t be posting the button after all, since I think it would make me look like I was actually playing by the rules. But I’m going to try harder from now on to follow the letter and the spirit of the law.

And if you see me headed to the Herrschners Outlet store, or see me discussing new yarn (especially for the Secret Stash mentioned in another post), just stop me.

Published in: on January 6, 2007 at 6:07 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatesheep.wordpress.com/2007/01/06/putting-myself-on-probation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Oh – I think you are okay since your intentions were good. But, you are probably on the radar and being studied closely for future violations, haha!

    I’m in the same boat. I vowed not to purchase any more yarn until I get some bills paid up and knit all my WIPs. I went to Hobby Lobby to get a 12″ cable to finish a sock monkey hat. I decided I didn’t want to pay full price and I would use the 40% off coupon next time they have one. (Why spend nearly 4 when you can spend 2? I’m cheap.) I then proceeded to purchase 4 skiens of their Mosaic Twist yarn to make a Meathead hat. It was marked down from 6.49 to 1.99! I totally lost all sence of control and forgot about my promise! Now I have 2 1/2 skiens of the stuff left.


Leave a Reply

